You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bittrex - Update - Probably my Fault.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I'm so sorry this happened to you.
As far as I understand, you can create API Keys that are good for trading only, but revoque the right to withdraws any fund from your bittrex account. Can this kind of keys still be used to steal your coins?

Sort:  

You are correct, you can simply leave the 'withdraw' function disabled, and then there is noway for a hacker to gain access to your funds. That coupled with whitelisting your ip and whitelisting withdraw addresses is the way to maximize your security....i have just learnt all this actually, made a video about it. https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@cryptoiskey/bittrex-how-to-make-sure-your-bittrex-account-is-secured-as-much-as-possible

I saw now about white list. But they say if you have for one, you should have then for all of them:

Warning: If you have this enabled on any currency, all currencies need to have a specified withdrawal address.

I don't believe will retrieve other than main 4-5 coins in personal wallets. The rest, only through conversion in market.
But, that is what they say there.

I have whitelist addresses for all my coins.