How do you hold and secure your Bitcoins/Altcoins?

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Bitcoin and other digital currency has come a long way since 2009. I heard about it back in 2010-11 but it didn't peak my interest until this year. I been stock piling over 20 different digital currencies, tokens, and asset classes but where and how do I store them securely?

 

Image link

There are different ways to store your digital assets available today such as:

  • Desktop wallet
  • Mobile wallet
  • Online wallet
  • Hardware wallet
  • Paper wallet

Read more from the above image here

Each work and function well to their intended purposes. I decided to go a different route. Since I access exchanges and other websites using my Keepass2 password manager so why can't I store my coins on the same database? I can easily input as many alt-coins as I want and not limited to only a few since hardware wallets only support certain ones but until then, I chose to use Keepass2 password manager as my storage for now...

Keepass2 pros:

  • Strong security
  • Can store any kinds of coins, assets, and their related information
  • Ability to import various file formats such as JPEG files of your addresses and keys
  • Open source and support
  • Portability and accessibility to create and save to multiple mediums
  • Plugins and features support

I keep my files on multiple devices such as USB stick, HDD, and even on waterproof/tear resistance papers. Stored at home, to a trusted person, deposit boxes but not on the clouds/net.

This method works for me and it might not work for you. There are many storage solution out there and the best solution comes down to the users themselves. As long as you do your due diligence in maintaining security and upkeep from lost then you're setting yourselves in a winning position.

Thanks for dropping by and leave a comment on which method you chose to store your coins in.



Sort:  

Do you have a link, or are you planning to post a 'how it works'? :D looks interesting!

Hi skririm. Here's the link http://www.coindesk.com/information/how-to-store-your-bitcoins/ from my post that will further explain :)

I think this is the big problem related to cryptos, how to securely store them.

I agree that it can be complicated at times to carefully use, transfer and store it correctly. Many companies are coming out with innovative solution for easy storage and security such as hardware wallets like Ledger nano S. In the end, It comes down to the end users and how they handle it.

Great post @zephyraijunzo Saftey first :)