The luckiest day of my life,the day I came to know about bitcoin and cryptocurrency.

in #bitcoin6 years ago

I met my 8th grade friend in a restaurant in Nairobi,we had not met for a long time almost ten years but we use to talk through social media  ,We are now at different colleges. Knowing he is taking bachelors degree in civil engineering I least expected him to understand a lot about internet and block chain technology.He ended up mentioning bitcoins,which he did not know about too well.

 This happened this year in June ,Since I spend a lot of time on the internet checking animation tutorials I decided to take a look at this block chain stuff.You understand internet in Africa is expensive and its a privilege to have it than the western and developed  countries.But in Kenya its a little bit cheaper and faster but also am one of the few who have the fastest internet at home.

 I realy researched about cryptocurrecy, my room met thought I was mad,I took notes and read extensively that month.We even ended up fighting over how I talked about bitcoins and cryptocurrency. I just told myself this people will regret not joining me to research it.

After my research I came to learn that Kenya was the easiest  country to by bit coins since we have mobile money transfer that sends money without the cellphone being connected to the internet its like sending money through text massages.Its called MPESA     

I discovered that I can buy bitcoins  from a seller and send the money through mpesa(mobile money transfer in Kenya). I visited a site which was a local site,by that time a few Kenyans were trading bitcoins on that site,the price of bitcoin was actually $2588.81   as per 18th June 2017  and purchased bitcoin worth $5,I felt happy to see my money in zeros and decimal points on my computer ,and it struck my my mind that currency revolution is coming to Africa and the whole world at large.

Sort:  

Congratulations @zevoxee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

So true and still many people think it's a scam..