Bitshares GUI Worker Proposal Renewal

in #bitshares6 years ago (edited)

Bitshares Community,

Can you believe it's already been 6 months? Actually, we are just a few weeks shy of 6 months. Over this time, we made sweeping changes to how the UI functions and to its overall look. The goal from the start was to fix bugs and make marginal improvements to the feature set. I am hopeful that the previous budget which will cover the next two Sprints still will include TradingView integration to the exchange and provide for full trading and activity history via ElasticSearch. Assuming we complete those items, the next six months will bring:

  • An expanded budget to fund real UX talent
  • Responsive design on every page
  • Improved Multisig UX

We are going to maintain the existing bounty program but be aware of the additional hours required for a more professional UX team.

As with the previous proposal, Bitshares Foundation is handling the receipt and distribution of funds. The WP will be paid in USD and any overage BTS will be refunded to the pool at the end of the term. Here is a link to the formal WP:

2018-02-bitshares-ui

If you are new to BTS and are unaware of the work carried out by this team, please take a look at the closed milestones 170830 - 180115.

Last, either proxy your votes to me, billbutler, or vote for this WP directly on the BitShares Wallet. Don't forget to click save after you check off your vote.

btsui.gif

Sort:  

I am voting for your Bill. Keep up the good work!

You have my vote sir.

Great work Bill. I'll be voting for you...

I go to try to learn that upvote and support

upvoted and supported - keep up the great work!

An expanded budget to fund real UX talent

This is absolutely essential!

A massive chance since I started 6 months ago. and so many new things to come.. Thx again for the update bill

Hi Bill,

I have only just come across this post. I wonder are there any updates regarding this now? The integration of the tradingview interface would be incredible - it would definitely create a more dynamic atmosphere than the current user interface. I'm also curious about the addition of new coins and how that process works.

If you do have any updates please feel free to write another post as I would love to upvote you but this one is way out of date!

Nice, i hope that also will be fixed the ram usage.. Because after 10mins it freeze the computer. Do you know when Monero will be supported in Bitshares ?

RAM usage should not be an issue. How much is it consuming?

On chrome/chromium 400 500mb up to it will saturate the ram, I think the reason is that some ws channels aren't always closed when not needed

I'm not experiencing this issue either... OS?

Ram usage is minimal. And it is leak free. I'm on a Mac, it might be different on other operating systems, though I doubt it.

We signed up for OpenLedger; does this preclude us from signing up to BitShares exchange?
Or are the logins going to be the same? Can there be the same login name on BitShares as OpenLedger?

Yes, you can sign into both with the same password and username.

Pretty excited about the trade view and UX updates. Invisible slide adjustments to the buy/sell data fields would be killer

Post an issue on GH re: "Invisible Slide Adjustments"

hold ur bts guys

You and the team have definitely made some gret improvements over the last few months, so thanks for that. And yes, it has gone by very fast!

I'd really, really, really like to hear/see more details around the actual user experience and interface design.

Not so much in the Exchange itself, as that is fairly on par with others, but in the REST of the Bitshares experience. I feel like we are still stuck on basic html from the 90's with no real concern for optimizing the layout and placement of menus, buttons, graphics (or lack thereof), etc.

If we bring modern web design and interaction into the Bitshares user experience, well, that would be a huge catalyst for growth and perception among users.

I personally think that an independent Worker Proposal would be best suited to be laser focused on JUST the design and user interaction/flow through the site. This should involved multiple rounds of completely fresh design mock-ups; voting from the community (similar to a 99designs approach); and THEN work with the development team (perhaps you and your team) to integrate the winning design with the backend code.

I think that incremental nit-picking around the interface is wasteful. It needs a full blown MAKEOVER.

Again, to reiterate above point, I'm not referring to the Exchange itself. There are definitely some design/UX improvements to be desired there as well, but I strongly think it's the REST of the user experience where the lack of modern, intuitive web design is hurting the platform.

My 2cents.

Thanks for your efforts here!

I tend to agree in general, however what you're talking about is a V E R Y big effort, a total redesign. The approach you describe (focus groups, mock ups, better involvement of community input) is something I've been saying for years that we've needed, but unfortunately the 2 things that keep that approach from being implemented is 1) cost and 2) time to complete the required work, both in up front design & architecture as well as the work to implement it.

To create a quality UI/UX for a product that meets users needs requires first to identify your target user audience, and that is rarely included in crypto project planning. Once identified those users need to be engaged to provide feedback the UI team needs to hone the UI into a product the users are pleased to use. That takes people skills, and many (most?) programmers fall short in that department.

Lastly I'll comment that I didn't quite understand:

Not so much in the Exchange itself, as that is fairly on par with others, but in the REST of the Bitshares experience.

the distinction you're referring to with that sentence. BitShares IS THE DEX (Decentralized EXchange) . Would you please elaborate on this point? There are different aspects to the ecosystem, the wallet is the biggest wrt UI/UX but even within the wallet are different aspects: trading (big implications for trading pros AND casual, amateur traders), exchanging, creating assets, and a really big one: how to incentivize users to vote to counter the widespread voter apathy that severely impacts the governance model.

Could the gamification, dopamine hit-feedback designs that facebook has used so effectively to "hook" users and essentially make them addicts be used to create an incentive to vote (and also encourage quality voting), or would it have negative side affects even if employed for that specific purpose?

Thanks for the response. I posted a follow-up response here, since my thought process was wanting to go in a few directions:
https://steemit.com/bitshares/@clickside/my-response-to-my-response-to-recent-bitshares-gui-worker-proposal-renewal

@clickside I disagree. I think iteration, like evolution is the way forward. There is nothing stopping anyone from applying for a UX WP.

Hi @billbutler - all good, we can disagree. You've done a great job, I voted for your first WP, and I've voted for your renewed WP. My comment started based specifically around your line about "An expanded budget to fund real UX talent"

I also posted a follow-up response at:
https://steemit.com/bitshares/@clickside/my-response-to-my-response-to-recent-bitshares-gui-worker-proposal-renewal

That being said, if you can build that into your budget then great. I just think a true design effort should come at it with a fresh perspective and not simply be confined by the current iteration, and I'd imagine most designers would want to deploy their creative talents.

Either way you've got my vote.... I'd just like to see Bitshares design get a facelift (again, not really talking about the Exchange tab itself).

Yeah this update looks so great , looking forward for more like this ...... Good luck for future...

You have my votes on one condition:

@kencode / @agorise 's stealth has to be implemented asap.

I can't stress it enough. It is potentially dangerous to be exposed so openly as it is today.

I also have some inputs regarding the dashboard page. It needs a better summary of what assets are present.

Otherwise I am very happy with a relatively bug free and responsive app! If only the nodes kept up all the time...

Stealth integration is largely up to @kencode. He can issue a PR just like anyone else.

I assume pr means pull request. I'm not 100% about the correct workflow, I just want the feature.

Nice great article it's informative like this.

Good post
My name is muhammad rizal
I'm a new member of steemit
Nice to meet you
Please followback and upvote my post https://steemit.com/plant/@riskiakbar/how-to-process-cocoa-beans-to-brown-and-benefits-of-cocoa-beans-f2b99e42a4549

Hi Bill! Apologies for the unrelated comment, but I was not sure how to contact you. I am running a project called the Steemit Success Initiative, which is a project that aims to grow and develop Steemit as a platform. As well as that, it aims to helps Steemit's users grow as much as possible.

I am currently looking for any support possible for the project; you can read more about it on my page, or I would be happy to talk to you on Discord or Steemit Chat. Thanks!

I am very interested in your post, maybe the best discussion for me