You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitshares - State of the Network - 29th May 2018

in #bitshares6 years ago

Adding a few more details. It should be noted that while the network has 200,000 transactions a day over 80% of that activity is bots. the busiest bot makes up 13% of all trading volume. A large number of accounts are created (likely via a bot) used once or twice and then sit empty. I don't know the full purpose of all of that activity, but I want people aware of it.

Sort:  

Bot activity is perfectly fine & entirely encouraged, would you rather that every trade was manually performed by middlemen? Market making is neccessary & potentially profitable.

No objection to market making by bots, actually I agree it is necessary and I encourage it. However, I do think it is important to be able to measure both -real humans- and bot activity. Ultimately, the real humans bring more value to a network than the bots. There is a big difference between the two. I would like to mention facebook. It deleted about 1 billion bot created accounts. The real value of facebook is the people. It has 2 billion people on the platform. That means it deleted 1 bot account for every two real users. Bots creating millions of additional users devalue the humans on the network. That is why they deleted them. So I am ok with bots, but I don't like confusing statics that mislead.