From Canada to China in under 3 seconds

in #bitshares6 years ago (edited)

This beer was bought with bit.CNY

A delicious looking IPA if I do say so myself,

who knew that the craft beer craze had reached China.

I've often asked myself what is it about Bitshares that fascinates me, I am not a tech person by nature or trade, and yet I am so in awe of this technology. It is a question I've not been able to answer but this little story gets closest.


Two weeks ago I posted this aritcle inviting anyone in Weihai City to visit a bar called LoveBeer. LoveBeer accepts Bit.CNY so the idea was to buy someone a beer (or two) from Canada through Bitshares.

Meet me new friend Guoan (left) from Weihai China.

photo_2018-07-30_08-44-17.jpg

Thanks to(@bangzi for sharing my article on WeChat. I was in contact with Guoan within a day.

Here is some of our conversation (please ignore typos) .

chat7.jpg

Although it took us a few days to line it up it worked great for both of us. 5am here in Canada is 9pm in Weihai. So as I was getting ready to start on the farm, Guoan could sit down with a friend for a beer after his day.

chat2.jpg

I tried to buy Guoan and his friend another round but they refused. They don't drink beer in China like we do in Canada.

Image 2.jpg


The story continues.

Turns out Guaon is very involved with Bitshares in China.

As a 36 year old professional bitcoin investor, he has lived in Weihai all his life, but most importantly he (like myself) is a passionate believer in Bitshares. Here is what he has to say:

"After contact with BTS, I could not extricate myself and was deeply attracted by this system. I like BTS, I like BTS system, people can do a lot of meaningful things around BTS system. BTS is what the public needs.

I recently launched an event in China, the 100 stores event. Let a lot of BTS lovers communicate offline. In this way, more stores will accept bit.CNY's payment. Now 23 stores have joined. This is a good start."

Things are happening in China which we in the West have no idea about.


Back to my question

Why does Bitshares fascinate me? Although I still don't exactly know, this gets closest to an answer.

It's not that bitshares makes the world smaller with 3sec transactions, but I think it is more that bitshares shows us the world is smaller than we think and we are all much much closer than we think. At the risk of getting too philosophical, there are no borders in bitshares, the bitshares blockchain covers the world without prejudice.

It's like buying a beer for a friend across the bar, or the world.
Thank you Bitshares, you continue to amaze me.


Epilogue

chat3.jpg

chat4.jpg

chat5.jpg

chat6.jpg

chineese city.jpg

btsSprouts.png

Thanks for reading,
FarmerD 🌱

P.S

Guoan Also makes these cool t-shirts (he sent me this one as a gift) if you'd like one please contact him here on Telegram.

Sort:  

Fantastic! There will be over 100 offline bars to join Bitshares payment and to be the meetup site in China.

This story turns out much better than the Bitcoin pizza story for all parties involved. Cheers to you my friend and great job engaging.

Unbeatable comment! Trying to come up with anecdote myself but this one does take it all, history has been made!

Thank you Michael. Yes I was very happy with how easily it worked, even the time of day, on both ends, was perfect. Thank you too my friend for the vote and resteem!, I really appreciate it.

This was a great read.

Thank you FarmerD for everything you do for the BitShares community.

Today it's a beer and tomorrow it could be anything else. As you said, BitShares has no borders so let's keep spreading the word and inform people about the awesome power of BitShares.

Thanks Kevin
I appreciate your words here and right back at you, thank you for everything you do for BitShares. Guoan has informed me that there are now 35 stores that accept bit.CNY. Things are indeed happening, and I'm always looking for ways to help.

awesome ! love it bro ! we need more of this...👌

No borders....I Love this!

Excellent Farmer D. Love your story and the human connection via BitShares. It is only a matter of time...when we will be enjoying uplifting stories like this from every corner of the world.

Great advert for Bitshares my friend !

We should all try and promote BTS as much as we can and everywhere !

Way to reach out! Now, if everybody in China would send me enough BTS for one beer, the price of BTS would moon! Just sayin'

It is indeed a great article for promoting Bitshares, which got me thinking would it be possible to get Bitshares integrated with wechat ? It was obvious when I was in China that everyone uses wechat for pretty much everything, if we could get Bitshares on there as a payment method, then the price would explode !

Keep up the great work sir !

Yes, this is a great idea! And although I'm sure they've thought of it I'll pass your question on to btsangel, maybe a project for Bitcrab. sometimes btsangel replies to me, sometimes not.

That is some incredible networking there @farmerd, nice work! Where about in CA are ya?

Thank you. I'm in B.C. Vancouver Island

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by da Lexx from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.