BitShares Prefixes for User Issued Assets

in #bitshares6 years ago (edited)

Why are the Prefixes removed from OpenLedger on the Bitshares DEX? I've asked this once to no avail so I figured I'd drop another line.

I am using Bitshares full client.

I have make many withdrawal with Ronny @ OpenLedgers service and I like it a lot, so do not think this is about the service.

More so -- I am considering the BitShares developers decisions to drop the prefix from only ONE gateways assets.

I do think this is going to be a problem as potentially more legitimate gateways come on board. Will OpenLedger in this case still be the only one to hold the "ETH" ticker? This seems problematic and biased. Not only that, the prefixes show people who they are putting their trust into when making a withdrawal or deposit.

Anyways, I hope people continue to consider the upsides of the BitShares DEX, but it is important for token holders to comment on things that don't make sense. And OpenLedger not having the prefix looks like a way to make BitShares more visually appealing, rather than true to it's foundational idea of transparent, accountable exchange operations.

Sort:  

IF anyone knows anything on this action or can explain please do so.

Back when I first researched BitShares I thought the Prefixes were ugly, but they are so important for people to know who they are dealing in commerce with. And, again, not only that other gateways might see this as bias and unfair.