You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BSIP-0022 Draft - "Introducing expiring votes for Witnesses, Committie members & Proxies within the Bitshares network" (An elaboration/extension of Dan's BSIP-0005); Input would be massively appreciated!

in #bitshares7 years ago

Thanks for hard work @cm-steem. I strongly support this BSIP but I guess that this would require a hard fork so we need to think it through so that there are as few hard forks as possible.

  1. I agree that we should start with linear decay function. I'm not sure about initial length of the interval. What would happen when this feature goes live? Would all votes start decaying at the same time? In this case I would go for 1 or 2 years. Or would it use the history of voting? In that case couple of months could be enough.
  2. I would omit blacklisting in the first version (or at minimum not use it) - it is a very dangerous feature.
  3. I would include worker proposals - some of them are really long (e.g. refund400k until 31 Dec 2035), alternatively we could limit the length of worker proposals to e.g.one or two years but that would be part of another BSIP
  4. I wouldn't enforce voting to be a requirement for BSIP 19 and 20, people will game the system which might be very dangerous in the end.
  5. I still don't understand when my vote would be "refreshed", i.e. would againd gain maximum strength. Let's say that I'm voting for 5 committee members and I add vote for 6th member. 5 votes will have limited strength and one new vote will be at full strength or all 6 votes would be at full strenght?
Sort:  
Loading...