Sort:  

I have a hard time reading between the lines with you, Mr. Stan Larimer, but if that's true, thenMY BAD! I was just trying to add some value and food-for-thought as this project is very exciting on its own, and even more so since its leveraging Bitshares. I hope I didn't actually reveal anything that was under wraps.

Not bad! GREAT! Keep up the thinking. The Quint is a very versatile tool in the BitShares Arsenal!

Okay then, another thought :)

So, I've been thinking about the "spending your crypto" topic. Me, personally, I don't want to spend my BTS, BTC, ETH, EOS, etc in my day-to-day life. Why in the world would I want to dish out $10 worth of BTS (~40 BTS!) at Chik-fil-a for two kids meals, when you believe that same 40 BTS could easily be worth 10x that value? It seems like crazy thinking to spend [hopefully] appreciating assets on daily living.

But, the interesting thing about Quint is there isn't a max supply of the token. The token itself is only limited by the demand for it and the supply side (physical precious metals backing it) to fulfill that demand. So while it will likely appreciate in value b/c many believe gold & silver are way undervalued, it's not going to be nearly as volatile as cryptos.

It would be WAY easier for people to get their heads around spending the stable "USDQ" (idea from original post) unit of measurement, because it is 100% equivalent to the way we currently spend money. The USDQ doesn't change in dollar value in this hypothetical scenario.

So, I could imagine a situation where people onboard from fiat to Quint as a store of value and "bank on the blockchain", then trade from Quint to/from other crytpo assets (bts, eos, etc...) as outlined in your plans, and go in & out of the hypothetical USDQ for daily spending.

Exchanges and other crypto payment cards could leverage this as a true apples-to-apples cost basis and create a real, stable value crypto currency that is ultimately backed by actual physical precious metal assets.

Retailers would be crazy not to understand and feel better about accepting that, rather than a wildly +/- fluctuating crypto value.

Ok - I didn't read your playbook, but hopefully this can add to it :)

I think your idea was what they thought of as the quint card they talk about in the whitepaper, for the card to work, that coin, USDQ, EURQ, etc..., needs to exist