You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Prefer the Bitshares DEX over Poloniex, Bittrex, etc.

in #bitshares7 years ago

Thanks for your thoughts, dutch. I'm also a fairly new adopter of Bitshares and I am a believer.

The comments made by the shark are valid and I'm sure many of us have factored some of them in our BTS decision process. For many of us, though - lending isn't a significant deciding factor as we're just trying to find our feet and survive in cryptoland. Further, I'd rather have a bug that can be internally rectified than a "bug out" where the coins evaporate into the ether.

BTS HAS tanked along with most other cryptos. Margin ratios need to be adjusted and hopes and dreams get put on hold until the next wave of enthusiasm recognises the elegance of Bitshares.. what to do? That said, my SILVER:BTS remains just as stable in these horrid conditions as it was when I acquired it. Value conscious traders recognise that and bid accordingly. Bitshares truly presents price discovery.

Of more immediate concern to some of us is the learning curve we undertake before we even begin to understand the power of Bitshares, let alone exploit the features available if we could only get our heads around them. I'll concede Polo and other market exchanges have easier to use tools, a hugely larger population of traders, and they make trading easy. However, there have been several times my assets have been unavailable to transfer or trade and I have had concerns of exchange viability. Also, using Coinigy.com and Coinmarketcap.com serve to fill in any spaces left unfilled by Bitshares.

Will I use Bitshares exclusively? I wish I could; however, in those circumstances where I am able to trade there - I will. Frankly, I'm amazed so many really tech savvy coiners aren't populating Bitshares and helping make the platform friendlier. If I had those skills or had the time to learn them - that's what I'd be doing. In the meantime, I fully endorse your post! See you on campus, mate. I'm sure we'll be trading with each other as time goes by. Cheers

Sort:  

Thanks for your perspective - that was a really good read. Hopefully in the future we will see far greater adoption of the DEX and witness some of these improvements being realised. In the mean time, it is still where I feel my assets are safest.

If I could trade using DEX on Coinigy, I'd be all in. However traders require professional tools in order to trade safely. Those tools are not available in DEX and without the Coinigy API integration, I would not dare trade. And thus, the reason we traders do not use DEX.