User Guide -- How to Backup Local wallet? Restore from a file or Brainkey?

in #bitshares6 years ago (edited)

BitShare Wallet Backup Types and Wallet Mode.


bts.png



Since BitShares default wallet became "Cloud Wallet", new BitShares Wallet holders might not be able to find "Backup" in the Settings. Then, they might worry... why? where?


If you are new BitShares Wallet holder and wanting to create "backup", check this post. Also, if you are not sure about the type of BitShares Wallet you have, check here.



Backup & Login Wallet Mode

If you cannot find "Backup" in your BitShares Wallet settings, check this chart to learn about each Wallet feature.


bk-braimkey1.png



Restore from a Backup file (.bin)

If you have Cloud Wallet and try to Restore/Import backup file (.bin), you might find some difficulties or get confused.


bk-braimkey2.png



Brainkey - Backup (Advanced)


bk-braimkey3.png



Brainkey -Restore/Import (Advanced)


bk-braimkey4.png


Were you able to find a "backup" page or create "backup"? If you created a backup file, you have BitShares Local Wallet now. Store your backup in secure locations only accessible by you.





This User Guide would be a part of my BitShares Documentation project contents. I have been adding more new images and information to improve the contents.

user-guide.png

Many thanks to, @xeroc, @ taconator, @bbulter, @sigvek and @fuzzy. :)



My previous post


Do you want to create your BitShares Wallet? Click here.



I am planing to post other contents also. If you have questions or requests, let me know. I'll try to find out and post here.

Thank you.


Sort:  

Very timely as I myself need to do a security audit, which begins with the basics, and then moves on to the implementation of periodic "fire drills", the "what if everything went wrong" kind of drill that requires a documented plan in place.

Had a scare with one of my main email accounts today. Puts the fear of God into you.

Anyhow, good job. It all starts with a good backup!

Thank you for your comment! :)

Congratulations @tsugimoto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks Tsugimoto. I experienced the angst that you refer to at all the above sections. Your posts are very helpful. I found myself inadvertently switching between the local and cloud wallets whilst trying to find the backup option . Is it best to set up the local wallet and do the backup and the brainkey? I did try but was unable to create the .bin file.

Hi, I'll try and test myself and put more details of create backup(.bin) .

Thank you for your article but backing up still doesn't work for me. I go to settings and there is no "backup". So I go to "general" and click on local wallet login and it logs me out. Please see attached pic. Any ideas how to fix this? There is no customer service. Thanks for your time :) ![Image of log out screen][url=https://ibb.co/cWSox6][img][/img][/url]

Hi, Let me try and research about this.

I will check it out thank you :)