My Bittrex Bitcoin Windfall

in #bittrex9 months ago

So for the last month or so I've been getting these emails from Bittrex titled something like "TAKE ACTION TO WITHDRAW THE ASSETS IN YOUR BITTREX ACCOUNT".

Then it goes on to warn me that I have until August 31st to withdraw my remaining assets. Apparently they are going bankrupt. How a centralized exchange can go bankrupt when all they do is charge exorbitant fees for simply transferring/exchanging crypto is beyond me.

Uh-huh, all caps, deadline to get my money, absurd story of bankruptcy, all the classic signs of a scam. Did I even ever use Bittrex? I couldn't remember off-hand. If I did, I'm sure I only had a few bucks or maybe if I were lucky a few 10s of dollars worth of crypto in there. Probably not even worth checking. Fees to transfer or withdraw it would eat it all up anyway.

Then I got yet another e-mail from them. This one said "As of August 3, 2023, your Bittrex account holds an estimated value of $1,436.98. Ok, this has got to be a scam. If I did use Bittrex I'm sure I never put near that much money in there. Maybe $100 or something...

But not wanting to chance it, I dug through my black book of account names and password hints to figure out my Bittrex logon. I log on to my account, and sure enough, there's more than $1,400 worth of Bitcoin in there... What the?!

Looking at the transaction history it looks like I was mostly using Bittrex in 2020 and early 2021 to trade Steem for Hive. It doesn't show where I actually bought any bitcoin though so I'm not sure what the story is there. Maybe purchases just aren't shown in the transactions or something. The price of Bitcoin in January 2021 was almost exactly what it is now. But seriously, I don't remember having that much in Bittrex not that I'm complaining.

Anyway, needing to get that Bitcoin out of Bittrex I had to figure out what I wanted to do with it. I decided to move most of it to Coinbase (for now...I know, I know, NYKNYC and all that). However, I also moved some to hive-engine to trade for hive and HBD. So after spending a little time setting up 2FA and whitelisting a wallet address, I was able to transfer it all out and now I have Bitcoin I didn't know about (or had forgotten) as well as some more hive and HBD.

So if you have a Bittrex account you might have forgotten about, make sure you don't have any crypto in it. It'll likely be gone after the end of the month.

Sort:  

I am going to check my account tomorrow! 😅 I have an old one somewhere

We have a tendency to forget sometimes, so maybe is good to check your account if you have more money sitting around. :)

https://leofinance.io/threads/darth-azrael/re-darth-azrael-f67jjgs5
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( darth-azrael ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.