Issues With Bittrex and What I've Learned About Exchanges

in #bittrex7 years ago (edited)

After a rather discouraging week in crypto due to problems with Bittrex, I've decided to finally make my first post on here to express my thoughts, as well as what we can learn from the situation and possible alternatives to centralized exchanges like Bittrex.
steemfighter.gif
Bittrex-Richie, who claims to be "the one you yell at whenever your deposit or withdrawals aren't working" seems to be deflecting shots from everyone this week, and I'll be honest, with most of my investment money locked up in the exchange, I'm feeling a lot like Bill in this GIF.. defeated.
( GIF courtesy of @roelandp )

So here I am, playing a little "SteemFighter" of my own, hoping to express my concerns with Bittrex and open up a discussion about the other options available when it comes to exchanges.

As you may know, there has been a lot of uncertainty this week for the users of Bittrex, as thousands of accounts were disabled without warning and no comment was made from Bittrex until yesterday. The statement was brief, and attempted to ease the minds of those of us whose accounts were disabled, but nothing was mentioned about when they would be back up. For many, including myself, this might have been too little too late. In an article on Cointelegraph, David Dinkins said, "A simple email from Bittrex, either before or immediately after accounts were “temporarily suspended,” would have probably gone a long way toward reassuring users that they would eventually receive access to their funds." But Bittrex didn't send an email, and they didn't address the thousands of users who are also experiencing verification problems. This was another theme in the discussion this week as many people either lost their verification status or attempted to upgrade it in order to withdrawal from the exchange, only to find that there was an "error" with verification.
Screen Shot 2017-10-18 at 3.28.47 PM.png

This is the error message displayed by Bittrex, but the error doesn't actually go away when you attempt to reload the page or log back in on another device.

I brought this issue up on twitter, and heard back from nearly 5% of those who viewed the tweet that they were experiencing this same issue. Thousands of support requests have been opened up, but not one of my followers had heard back from Bittrex explaining why their verification failed or why the site wasn't actually allowing them to try to re-submit. This issue, while talked about on social media nearly as much as the disabled accounts, was left out entirely from the statement posted by the exchange. I have even seen some users speculating that Bittrex is intentionally blocking verification in order to withhold funds. I hope, however, that this isn't true and that we just need to be patient. Many argue that Bittrex, while poorly handling their communication with users, is working to overcome growing pains as cryptocurrencies become more and more mainstream, and will eventually sort through their support tickets and fix the affected accounts. I have read about the same "growing pains" argument when it comes issues with Poloniex, though, and some of their users claim to still have unresolved support requests months later with funds still stuck in the exchange.

Issues like these led me to further research the different options that are out there when it comes to cryptocurrency exchanges, and I have found two other models that may be a better answer than centralized exchanges like Bittrex and Poloniex.

Unlike these exchanges, platforms like EtherDelta function as decentralized exchanges. On decentralized exchanges, users' private keys and coins are not stored on a central server, but are stored in a peer-to-peer network, like the blockchain. This minimizes the risk of a hacker compromising the servers of the exchange and stealing funds, like with what happened to Mt. Gox in 2014. While governments may dislike the idea of these platforms that make funds harder to trace and, in turn, harder to tax, I see great value in the security of the decentralized model. Isn't the idea of decentralization what brought most of us to crypto anyway?

Finally, a model that I see having much larger application than just for investors, would be the instant exchanges like Changelly and Shapeshift. With these you are able to shift between different coins in a matter of minutes without ever having to input your personal information or deposit on the exchange. This would be an easy way for people using cryptocurrencies in real-life scenarios to quickly switch between coins depending on where or for what they are using them. From the investor side, I also don't mind the idea of using these services to ensure that all of my coins are in separate wallets and, most of the time, locked away in a safe place instead of at the mercy of the owners of an exchange.

The Wild West of Cryptocurrency can be tough to navigate at times, but I hope that my first post here on Steemit will spur a discussion about what exchanges can be trusted, as well as the different models we have available. I would love to hear thoughts in the comments, and for anyone else whose funds are stuck in Bittrex, let's hope we'll be back to trading soon.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Yes I am unfortunatly not able to withdraw from Bittrex and its not verifying me not reloading the page so that I may try again...kinda sucks but wasnt planing to withdraw anytime soon anyway but I would still like that option available to me just in case I do decide to withdraw some profits.

I'm sure they are aware of what's going on by now, hopefully the support team can get caught up on tickets and the disabled accounts so they can get the verification problem fixed soon as well.

yep loged in this afternoon and i am ENHANCED so they finally verified me :) im happy

glad to hear it! happy trading (:

Bittrex is definitely not handling things very well.

This is a great first article on Steem; you did a great job! I wrote a similar article you can find here about the situation with Bittrex and Bitfinex.

Otherwise, good luck on Steem :)

They certainly aren't but I'm hoping they can step up to the plate and turn it around.

Thanks for the comment, I appreciate it! I'm happy to hear some positive feedback, I didn't expect this much activity on my article right away! I'm excited to see where my journey with Steem takes me.

I'll give your article a read,

Cheers!

Congratulations @samxansen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sam, so what is the next best thing to use? I am new and do not know what account to setup, if I ever decide to purchase Steem or w/d funds to my bank, via Bittrex or any other vehicle. It is ridiculous that they cannot get back to you after three days and suspended all new accounts. Not a good sign.

please check my article about Bittrex, some insiders know the reason --> https://steemit.com/bittrex/@mastabanana/how-safe-is-bittrex

BTW: I am looking for an exchange cause I wanna get some lumens and ripples. What do you recommend?? cheers MastaBanana

!originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @samxansen to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!