Sort:  

Jason, great post man! Very well written.

I started training quite late myself as well at 35 and am so glad I did. Good work getting in there and taking the plunge. It's humbling getting your ass consistently handed to you by smaller and younger individuals isn't it? :)

I've never personally trained with Pedro Sauer but love the Rickson Gracie style Jiu Jitsu that he teaches. It's just so effective and based in self defense which I really like. I live in South America but when I have the chance I really enjoy training with another Rickson black belt, Henry Akins, who's out of LA.

I gotta check out Jocko's newest book that you mentioned. I read Extreme Ownership which was great.

Thanks @patriciorayaz. While the learning curve is a little humbling, I find that by the end of each class I just start to get in the flow, which is an amazing and very addictive feeling. There are also many times I am in awe of the intelligence of the defense or counter.

One thing I do like about this gym I'm at is that they don't let you start sparring with blue and purple belts until you get your "combatives" belt, which is after you've perfected and tested the basic self-defense moves. It's obviously still a white belt, but you've proven you at least know something, have conditioned your body, and can avoid injury, etc. It takes 8 to 12 months to get to that point. It's a good business model for the gym because people don't give up in those first few months and old guys like me don't get injured :)

The audiobook of Discipline Equals Freedom is great because you get to hear Jocko reading it. It's on Spotify and iTunes.

Followed you and looking forward to hearing how the Henry Akins camp goes.

What a great concept to have you guys learn the combatives prior to rolling with higher belts. This is the first I've ever even heard of that but it makes sense coming from a school where your lineage is Rickson and Pedro.

Being 42 and speaking from experience, getting injured as an old guys sucks. ;)

Just bought Discipline Equals Freedom on iTunes. What a great way to start the New Year. Thanks for the recommendation.

Happy New Year!!

It's never too late to start! BJJ is a great base to have. Glad to see you've began your BJJ journey. Be sure to update us on Steemit! We have a growing bjj and mma community here :)

Awesome, thanks for stopping by!

Hey mate, I've been meaning to reply to this one for a couple of days. Only just got around to it. I've listened to Jocko and Echo Charles on their podcast for a while now. So many good lessons to learn. How intense is Jocko man? I listen to them more from a leadership and military perspective but get a lot out of the BJJ chat as well. Discipline, control etc. Good on you for getting amongst it.

I hope you have a great 2018 planned. All the best.

Jocko is the man. I do enjoy his podcast, although I usually just catch highlights here and there. If you haven't already, you gotta check out Discipline Equals Freedom - the audiobook is best. I also listened to Extreme Ownership which is amazing and has heaps of great stories from the battle of Ramadi.

This is great, bang on! My wife and i did BJJ a few years ago. Life took us away from it, but we still love it and talk about it often!

Planning to get my wife involved soon, mainly so I can have a training partner at home :)

Well, remember this advice....if your wife trains in bjj....she might jump out of no where and choke you...not that i found out the hard way haha

Great post! Thanks for sharing, the pics. are awesome. I follow and upvote you.

It's never too late to start, and I'm glad you did! Better late than never, right? I started late too, when I was 34. I also wish I could have started 20 years earlier, but it is what it is, and I still enjoy it! Great post @jasonstaggers

Thanks @evecab. Definitely better late than never :) Hope to get my blue belt someday. My coach says a black belt is just a white belt that never quit, so as long as I keep showing up...

Hola amigo, no he leído su post, entre para saludarlo y desearle Feliz año nuevo, espero la pase muy bien junto a su familia. Saludos!

Great post! Very informative and fun!

I follow Jocko's stuff as well but I have never ever seen that video. Must have been terrifying for the dude!

Good on you for starting, man! I hear it gets really addictive really quick!

Thanks, it is VERY addictive and super-fun.

That's great to hear :)

Looking forward to more articles and posts!

Hello @jasonstaggers, I think it's an excellent experience you're living. And it's never too late to start new stages in life. Everything you have done and have lived is because God wanted it and has awarded you a beautiful family.
The good thing about martial arts, as well as other sports is that it's never too late to start practicing it. I wish you good luck and have fun with the JIU - JITSU.
A thousand congratulations and a happy new year for you and your family. ;)

Thanks @rivendels. Great to hear from you. I hope all is going well in your new home.

I started BJJ in 1998, but took so many years off... Now I am here in Tokyo training everyday, and its never too late to train, and it never leaves you either. Gambatte @jasonstaggers!!! Oss!!!

That's awesome. Well done for getting back into it after so much time off.

Happy New Year Mr. Jason Stagger.
Thankful to God for having known him. Enjoy a New Year, full of peace, love, health, happiness and prosperity.
Greetings to all your family. God bless you.

Happy new year to you as well @armonia :)

Everyone needs to do some form of exercise. BJJ sounds like a great choice. :)