Brazilian Jiu Jitsu!

in #bjj6 years ago

I guess I may as well share some of the lessons/knowledge/benefit I am getting from training as a purple belt in Brazillian Jiu Jitsu. I will start posting funny memes, techniques of the day, and knowledge in case I can duplicate the benefits I receive getting my ass kicked 3 times a week.

Questions and discussion welcome!

(I have been able to protect my ears so far at the expense of great street/mat cred!) ;)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! Glad to see more #bjj peeps joining the Steemit community! #steemitbjj

BJJ or STEEM, both great communities that need to be demystified and shared with the masses for greater good. OSS!

I have been meaning to get into BJJ for so long but never pushed myself to do it, heard there are many great benefits like it being a second family for some people. Followed you and maybe one of your posts will finally convince me to start lol.

For what it was worth, I got into it 6 years ago when my brother came to me and said he was bored of the gym and we were going to take a martial art to stay active. Not being overly competitive, we tried a bunch of free classes of Muay Thai, Aikido, Krav Maga, and eventually stumbled upon BJJ. The only criteria we had was no sparring (no need to go get abused by alpha males) and no Gi (nothing like sinking a couple hundred bucks into gear and then feel the repeated shame when you quit.)

Needless to say, the rest is history because it is so cool, hard, less extreme than it looks from the outside looking in, and so great for the brain and body. Such a good life decision.

We have even managed to pick up a few medals along the way.

just about every place will do a free week or at least a free class so you can get an idea before you commit.