Womanhood While Black

in #blackwoman4 years ago

Go where you are celebrated and attempt to avoid spaces you are merely tolerated. Today I spent my afternoon in Leimert Park of Los Angeles California. It is 02/02/2020 Super Bowl Sunday to some, first palindromic in 900 years to numerology fans. Odessa played in the background as I dressed in a skin tight navy blue cat suit and slicked product on the edges of my ass length box braids. I finished the look with open toed shoes displaying a fresh pedicure. I cleaned and cooked pot roast before heading to the park. There is something inherant about being a black woman who cleans and cooks on Sunday. I dressed my daughter in pale pink and navy blue with perfectly matched bows. I learned from reading Toni Morisson that their can never be "too much beauty" ..... Sooo four pageant style bows adorning my one year old's head was the perfect touch. We look fly as we seat ourselves in my bright red Volkswagen Jetta.  Gucci man blares through my opened windows as we get to the park. We are greeted by the fragrance of sage and marijuana as we exit the car. I learned about consumerism and mass production from a lover once so I am on the hunt for local vendors. We walk past fifteen seated drummers beating in unison and I feel delicious. As I walk to the booths the sun shone on my daughter and I. I aI IIm sure we looked like perfectly wrapped caramel.