You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creating and printing a 3d figurine for roleplaying

in #blender7 years ago

brilliant, i got a davinci mini a few months ago, great 1st 3d printer but now i need an upgrade, wouldnt mind being able to print much larger items and better quality, great post keep em coming :)

Sort:  

also considering getting an occulus rift for vr 3d design, what do you think ? :)

Everything 3d I just use the tools of @evilhippie - including the Oculus Rift :)

I am not sure about the oculus for modelling. I have had the opportunity to try it ous because my work has one, and one of the projects I am currently involved in uses it. It was a very nice experience in the sense that it felt very intuitive and it was pretty ok for sculpting. However, it didnt have the full workflow, so I would expect som issues with importing /exporting from another 3d application like maya or blender og mudbox or whatever . On the other hand it is a great toy, so if you can afford one do go ahead :-)

If you want to buy a new printer, the best value for money at this moment i would say is the Creality CR-10

(i want to upgrade to it :) )

Youtubers that make 3d printing video's are extreem positive about this machine and have made very nice review video's about it, and there is a big active community behind it.

It sells for around 400 dollar and can print 300 x 300 x 400mm

Results from this printer:

I didn't do the actual printing myself, but I saw that @evilhippie just posted about how he does. You can see it here: https://steemit.com/fantasy/@evilhippie/3d-printing-henna-the-faunette

And congrats with the davinci - it's crazy fun to be able to print objects