You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Write Comments That Makes Influencers Notice You

Fantastic post @ogochukwu! At the risk of sounding like everyone else, very well done! This is fantastic advice for new Steemians trying to build a following. Engagement with other people is my favorite part of the platform, and the cookie-cutter copy and paste replies that people leave definitely detract from a good post.
The one that I have noticed that I dislike seeing the most is when I see someone drop a comment on a post, cut and paste style "Great post", and then they Upvote their own comment a dollar or whatever, not Upvote the post, and the post value is less than the crappy comment. I have nothing against people Upvoting their own comments, but at least Upvote the post, too! Is there anything we can do about that, aside from using flags? I know a lot of new steemians are probably afraid to flag for fear of being flagged back by the more powerful account. Do we just have to ignore the poor behavior of these other accounts, or are there services for this kind of thing?
Kinda off the topic of your post, but kinda not. I know your post is about leaving Greater than Good comments, but it got me wondering what can we do about some of the "bad for the environment" type of behavior like the self vote comments and "follow for follow" beggers? Some of the stuff I overlook if they at least support the post with an Upvote and/or Resteem, but the bot comments and the people who never Upvote or Follow back? Are there any services or anything for that?

Sort:  

Hello @gogogadgetupvote

The only solution to spam comments for now is flagging. And for those who do what you stated above, I believe that antone who is that greedy does not really know what Steemit is all about.

Steemit is decentralized so there is no form of policing for how people use their upvotes. But I believe such person will not last here due to the fact that he/she will not fit into any community.

@ogochukwu

Greedy is definitely a good way to describe those people. Thanks for replying to my comment so fast, @ogochukwu! Do you mind if I mention this post and link it in my next post for new Steemians?

Yes you can, I want the post to get to as many people as possible @gogogadgetupvote