You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HOW TO LAUNCH STO (security token offering) AND WHICH PLATFORM TO CHOOSE ? SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCE

in #blockchain5 years ago

I think you have to ask a basic question first. Why issue a Security Token rather than just selling shares in your company? Unless there is a specific exemption under Swiss law, the rules are going to be the same, so what is the advantage of a token?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I would think that an STO would be more established in a legal sense. For operators that know their business model, broad rules for selling shares in an organization might be disadvantageous when operating in a constantly innovating environment like crypto. Having STO rules for networking organizations to comply with may protect real world assets.

But, I have not had the time to dig into the legal aspect. Nor do I know how much laws can be altered under Swiss law or the US for that matter.

Unlike Bitcoin being considered freedom of speech, I am unaware of how protected the capacity to work (or be an employer) is under the constitution.

For example, Amazon may buy up a town and incorporate it, thereby making all residents under its governance free to employ under US law. However, if I open a business on the ground floor of my apartment building, I may be within my legal right to employ tenants as it exists in a commercial zone, but those who must use government owned land to travel to my business may be illegal to employ under US crypto laws.

U know, like, how current media chatter is about giggly, under-the-breadth :) stuff nowadays.

True that, @apshamilton. I asked myself the same question reading the post. Since both avenues, though seemingly similar, target different investor segments, I was assuming, they were after a specific audience. Selling tokens might work better for certain types of businesses and industries than others.

From a regulatory standpoint though, you have a point.