What happend with the decentralized dream in 2017?

in #blockchain7 years ago

It is a while ago I posted on steemit. Crypto went crazy in 2017 and I had my hands full on my IT security job with all the leaks and attack we endured.

Still I kept my eye on crypto in general. I saw some beautiful projects getting funding and the growing need for decentralized systems. We only have to look at the banks being under DDOS attack or centralized exchanges being hacked.

Also I noticed a lot of bad projects gaining a lot of attention. Most noticeable being bitconnect ofcourse.

Suddenly having supernodes (syscoin getting them for example) is a great thing. I mean supernodes. The word alone implies centralized structures. Of course there are projects like Decred that does have decentralized governance but that is mostly overlooked. It seems people entering the crypto sphere these days don’t care about decentralizing like the cypherpunks did.

Also we saw Facebook talking about getting into crypo. If there ever was a time for Steem(it) to shine it will be now and we need to it fast. Before the evil Facebook get a hold on it.

The need for decentralized exchanges is also great. We still get our funds being stolen or being ripped off by exchanges to pay fees up to 100k to get listed. Still projects like Internet of Coins get less funding that strangely run ICO’s like Tezos.

Super nodes, ICO with badly written white papers, Ponzi schemes and centralized exchanges cannot be our future. I expect and hope 2018 will be the year of solid projects. So that 2018 will be the true year of decentralizing

Anyway I will up my activity on steemit again. I used some nice forensic tools in the last year and got involved in some crypto projects.

Sort:  

The dream is not lost. I am here for much more than the money and the meme.

Congratulations @disofdis! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!