SEVEN YEARS OF DISAPPEARING UP MY OWN ARSE

in #blockchain9 months ago (edited)

Next month will be seven years on blogging blockchain platforms for me, as I started out on Steemit in August 2016 after Jeff Berwick did a drunken rant saying Steemit and Bitcoin were the future.

fa69660d024a0f39306902eabc6d25abb6572158.png

For all his faults he was right about Bitcoin and I owe him one for that awesome tip! I went on to do very well on BTC (twice). I'm not so sure about Steemit after learning more about it's origins later, but what the hell, it started me on an interesting path.

ae2edace974c02b19013cf8041c5cb3febecf0d4.png
Is that a Freemason shirt Jeff?

On Steemit, then Hive, then Flote, then Blurt, and finally Bastyon, the same pattern always repeated - they all got gradually more boring until they disappeared up their own arses...

I have been using two main online identities for 25 years now - SIFT and FROT. But when the CIA were setting up Steemit in early 2016 they reserved all the one syllable four letter potential names for themselves (although they missed FROT for some reason). So when I set up my first account, SIFT was gone and I already suspected that there was some sort of deep state Satanic psyop going on, so I called my account SIFT666.

863d1ef09fe0a2da6ac895f05245223e75d5f5ba.png

And that did help me take off to some extent because there were quite a few whales who dug that Satanic shit, and maybe thought I did too

At my SIFT666 Steemit peak (late 2016, early 2017) I had about 2000 followers, my posts were earning between US$5 and US$400 a pop, and they sometimes had more than 100 replies with all sorts of images and links. It was very entertaining at times!

But all good things must end, and Steemit totally imploded so I switched over to Hive with a lot more inside knowledge, and bought up a big holding very cheap. Later I sold it before Hive also imploded up it's own arse, and soon after that I was blacklisted for posting anti "vax", and anti germ theory information at the start of the Covidhoax.

f5875942139e55b82a8652f428767bba31aaf9cd.png

These days Steemit is a Chinese owned joke filled with Korean shitposts. If anyone is looking for Asian entertainment I recommend Ali Express where you can see stuff like 75 thousand listings for dildos all written in Chinglish.

dd127ce48c95fb8b70f90bbfb4b13a4c1fbf42d6.png
https://www.aliexpress.com

Steemit is now a total waste of space where insiders fling money at their own alt accounts for posting pictures of the bowl of noodles they just ate... So it's an Asian version of Hive really!

c5339db1d5d434676ff91a5db28274e444829cf2.png

HIVE still has the best front end of all time - PEAKD, which is brilliant, but the insider cabal, the corruption, the relentless downvoting and the censorship makes the platform an unusable lemon. I hope the insiders are proud of themselves, for destroying what could have been a great blogging platform.

FLOTE and BASTYON both followed slightly different downward trajectories, based more around bad decisions, bad design, lack of vision, and incompetence, rather than obvious corruption, but ultimately they too ended up as dead end platforms with no prospects.

Which brings me to BLURT. Why am I even looking at it again or considering posting there at all? Because I now see it as the only blockchain blogging platform with any chance of ever recovering.

And only on the BLURTLATAM front end - https://blurtlatam.intinte.org because the other Blurt front ends are totally fucked. And even then the the chances are pretty slim. It's main strength is no downvoting, and ironically it's other strength could be that the Blurt tokens are now so worthless that the rewards are no longer worth sucking anyone's dick for.

b556bcd6568880cfb23c300a641efeebb6414b7b.png

First and foremost, I think the elephant in the room with all these platforms is that earning rewards from blogging just leads to endless suck whale dick for a dollar safe posts. And along with that it leads to whales controlling the content by removing the rewards, and also to a bunch of tame insider puppets posting endless variations of the same posts to get their rewards.

If I start posting on BLURT again it will mainly be just for my own entertainment - at this point I expect less than 10 people would even see what I post let alone reply to it. And anything I post there I would also be posting in other platforms. But I would really like to see one blockchain platform work - it was a great idea. At this point I'm still testing the waters - Is it entertaining? Is it worth another shot? I'll give it a few days and rethink things...

60d2374c3fd095275d397112b3e7d3769d804c33.png

Posted from https://blurtlatam.intinte.org

Sort:  

Different paths perhaps, but props for being among those rarities who have had the same online identity since the 90's.

One of the few pieces of authentic advice I got came from a college creative writing class: "Writing is an invitation to discover that less than 1% of the population actually gives a genuine frack about your opinion and anything you have to say."

Which, at the time, was the implication that you might pour your heart and soul into what seems like your Opus Magnum book and then go on to sell all of 300 copies, while some fuckwit who sucked the right dicks ends up with a NYT bestseller and a Lear jet.

Yeah, it would be cool if one of these gigs actually really became something. I recently looked at blurt again, too... the new "BeBlurt" front end could become similar to PeakD IF they keep going and do it right.

I'm continuing to do this because it is more entertaining than just writing to myself in a paper journal or Word doc... at least that's true for me.

"Writing is an invitation to discover that less than 1% of the population actually gives a genuine frack about your opinion and anything you have to say."

I like that. Someone should make it into a wall plaque, I'd buy one to hang up, my kids would respond with "oh, I see you finally got the message", lol.

Yep - like me you've been around in better times - it's all a bit of a let down these days isn't it? - I will say this for Hive - no other platform has shown me such relentless hate - not even Facebook - I must have done something right!

zuck & musk.jpg

Hah! What a beautiful bromance!

Ironic, isn't it? Those who hold strong "anti-establishment" opinions invariably hold equally strong opinions about those who don't subscribe to THEIR flavor of anti-establishment.

Old story, no?

Good to see you pop in again, your stuff really makes me chuckle, you have a way with words!

Always nice to see you around.

Hahaha I can relate bud. The incentivized steering of posts by whales on Hive really adds up to the same thing as shadow banning. So much for free speech and uncensored blockchain. I think that DPoS is a plutocracy, which includes Hive and Ethereum. The rich whales control the place which becomes very centralized. Wherever there is money, you will get corrupt controllers. My hope is on bitcoin remaining decentralized and able to facilitate sovereignty. I might be wrong, but I have yet to see any other better alternative.