[Social Network] ONO

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

image.png


Introducing ONO, a Chinese decentralised social network built on EOS blockchain technology, much like Steemit is built upon the Steem blockchain. That's right, this is a new competitor to Steemit that sprung up earlier this year and is currently in beta.

ONO is a decentralised blockchain network built upon the increasingly popular technology of EOS.IO and they are trying to become a supernode and block producer in the EOS ecosystem. I've got to admit that EOS is one of those blockchains that I've been meaning to look more into and never got around to it, until now. I first came across ONO a few weeks ago while doing some research into alternative blockchain-based social networks. This was one of two that I was really excited about taking for a test drive, and thanks to @anthonyadavisii who provided me with the invite code, I can now do just that.

ONO seeks to address some of the issues that many users have with the Steemit platform, such as reward distribution and the pseudo-decentralised nature of Steemit. In their white paper they state that:

ONO believes in the value of attention.
As far as ONO is concerned, there exists many valuable human social activities within a social media ecosystem and ONO recognizes the inherent value of both the supply-side and demand-side of human cognitive and social energy.
ONO believes in equality. As far as ONO is concerned, everybody is born equal in personality, so the ways to earn rewards and gain attention in social platforms shall also be equal.

ONO White Paper Introduction

Blockchain social networks seek to address the problem of platform owners taking the lion's share of the profits, leaving the content creators with scraps such as with Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and so on. Censorship is often an issue that is raised with these platforms, and for good reason too, so I'd be curious to see how a platform created by a Chinese firm will handle that. From their FAQ, they've openly stated that "the wall" (which I presume means the Great Firewall of China) won't be a problem, and Chinese users of the platform will be able to view and interact with foreign content that abides by chinese laws, potentially opening your content up to a whole new audience.

I'm still reading through the very thorough white paper put out by the ONO team, but I'll leave all the usual links down below for you to look through. You can read more about the team behind the project on their Meet The ONO Team post to get a better idea of who's working on this.

If you would like to sign up for ONO, you'll need my invite code WQ0S and to install either the iOS or Android app onto a device (no web interface yet). You'll find the app in the App Store or Play Store. It's a great opportunity to try out a new and promising platform while it's still young, and who knows, maybe ONO will become as successful (if not more so) than Steemit. Is it a Steemit Killer? That's anybody's guess right now, but I can certainly see the potential in it. Sign up to the beta stage now and receive 500 ONOT, the tokens for ONO. They aren't listed on any exchanges just yet, but expect that to change in the not too distant future.


ONO Links

Invitation Code: WQ0S

ONO Official Website

ONO Whitepaper

ONO Steemit Account

ONO Medium Account


What do you think about this new rival platform? Will you be signing up to give it a try? Let me know your thoughts and feelings down in the comments section, I always really enjoy reading your perspectives on these things. As always, make sure to follow me for the latest Technology, Internet and Pop Culture updates, plus whatever else I feel like writing about. Until next time, take it easy!


P.S. If you're new here, you might want to check out my Ultimate Beginner's Guide To Steemit, which covers everything you need to know to get started making money and meeting new people on Steemit.

If this post is older than 7 days, please support me by upvoting my latest post upvoteLatest post


Sources:

ONO Official Website (https://www.ono.chat/en/)
ONO White Paper (https://medium.com/ono-social-network/ono-white-paper-e33102d3aad5)
All images belong to their respective owners and are being used to help promote this promising platform

All images and videos are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

I haven't explored it yet since I downloaded onto my phone.

I need to do more of that.

Yeah it's taken me a few days before I decided to start playing around with it. I'm still familiarising myself with the interface, seems a little cluttered so looking forward to getting a website. My username on there is johng if you wanna try and find me.

Once I'm verified I'm looking forward to seeing the UI for writing, already liking the initial choice between article and story.

I just realized that handles are case sensitive!

Didn't know that, I'll keep that in mind! Just checked and mine is all lowercase

I'll check it out for sure. Recently I've been seeing more social media tokens and found Narrative (NRVE) based on NEO (another kind of token, dunno how many there are to be honest). I'll check out ONO and use your code thank you so much!

and the pseudo-decentralised nature of Steemit

I see what you did there heh heh
and I agree.

Thanks for that, I've just put my name down on the waiting list for Narrative. Not come across that one on my travels, but interesting that it's based on NEO.

Another one I hope to put a quick post out about is called SocialX, currently in beta and you can get your name down on the waiting list if you want here: https://start.socialx.network/?kid=QEW5M

hehe thank you!

I'll check that one out, too! So many tokens... so little time haha

I know what you mean, feels like information overload

You just planted 0.15 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johngreenfield

We have planted already 3750.03 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19222.21
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

PRICES HAVE CHANGED TO 0.150 and 0.151!!!
NEW TIER UPVOTES user guide



Current price is 0.150 or 0.151 SBD for 200%, 250%, or 300% upvote based on tier level.

200% ($0.30) - Bronze Level - No requirements
250% ($0.37) - Silver Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 (whichever is possible)
300% ($0.45) - Gold Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 AND 50 SP delegation

All delegators make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!