You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Solve Fake News with Proof of Consensus and Blockchains

in #blockchain7 years ago

This is a fantastic article! 😃 ⭐️ It's great to see a break down how Steem and similar blockchains can be used to resist propaganda and censorship. Very clear writing.

My main thought: This particular Steem implementation (or instance) is a social media site, not concerned with truth or against fake news per se. What about an implementation that explicitly was? Kind of like a decentralized PolitiFact of the people? I kind of propose something like that here.

Also, I have to agree with @mrosenquist a bit here on the definition of consensus (a debate which you kind of predicted with your statement "It is challenging enough to get people to agree on the definitions of words..." 😂) and how truth comes into it. You've responded a little in an edit, and there's a lively debate on that thread already, I won't bother adding to it directly. I'll only say that it's relevant when talking about information to consider that the fear of mob rule is real. I don't believe what everyone think, just the people I trust. I think this is one of the biggest challenges of decentralization.

Also I would be interested to hear your thoughts on how force comes into consensus as you see it. I seems to me that consensus is not the same thing as accepting a situation, especially one backed up by law and thus force. Consensus does not guarantee implementation, and force comes into it, as well as ability and willingness to act.

Sort:  

It is challenging enough to get people to agree on the definitions of words...

You just reminded me of this :D http://existentialcomics.com/comic/164

Ha! Hadn't seen that one yet 🤣