Why I left banking for the crypto train

in #blockchain7 years ago

Disclaimer: This is not investment advice but merely my own reflection on cryptocurrencies and the companies that are involved.

Sweet corporate life

I loved my job. When you leave consulting your main fear is that your next venture might soon become boring and you find yourself trapped in it for much longer than 3 months. Fortunately, nothing of that sort happened. On the contrary, having found BBVA was a free kick that quickly turned into a goal.

How not to like working at Mexico’s biggest bank? It involves a new 50 floor skyscraper built on Mexico’s equivalent of an intersection where Champs-Élysées would meet Central Park, interesting projects in the Investment Banking division and a team of highly motivated and talented colleagues. Sweet corporate life.

Emblematic Avenida Reforma in Mexico City.

Crypto-fan

Cryptocurrencies were a weekend speculation game. I started programming some neural net bots and got acquainted with fellow crypto traders, one of whom later became my best friend. Six months on the bank and a friend called to see if I am interested in joining AirTM.

What is this company about? I asked.

My friend starts explaining on the phone, my workmate asks for last week’s analysis and I only pretend I understand while I look for a file in my computer.

Me: Yes, AirTM is interesting. Got to go, see you soon.

Distributed technology is disrupting the finance industry. Are Nakamoto, Buterin, Fugger and Larimer the four horsemen of the apocalypse for banks? Who will be this Facebook-JP Morgan-esque company in 10 years? Will SWIFT and PayPal die? Some blockchain projects will prosper, most will fail. What is the key to success?

These questions increasingly haunted me while I was at the bank. I tried to discuss these thoughts, no luck.

Boss: Yes, Bitcoin is interesting. Focus on the projections, the presentation is on Monday.

I thought to myself, maybe if I bring up blockchain during lunch time?

Colleagues: Interesting. How was the Korea trip?

We finish lunch and head back to work.

My friend calls*

Friend: Have you considered AirTM?

Me: Yes, AirTM is interesting. Did you see the Ethereum hard fork? Wait, sorry, tell me about AirTM.

Distribution network

Something became clear to me during consulting: distribution channels are important to success and they become essential in new technologies. Consumers don’t know how to use new tools and current providers have financial incentives to keep business running as usual. So, if you develop a new technology it is very likely you will need to go out and sell it.

Diving more into AirTM a phrase catched my eye: last mile solution. That’s it! AirTM connects people, allowing them to tokenize assets, trust their counterparts and carry out a transaction. It has a distribution network: thousands of users that, for a commission, transform other people’s assets into a stable token! The company is growing fast, what’s the market for a stable token? Well, just about everyone, I think. AirTM’s token just happens not to be on the blockchain at the moment. But what if…

Without thinking more about it, I go to dinner with my friend and accept the offer of joining AirTM without having discussed compensation.

Current state

AirTM is raising capital in a pre-ICO round where, in addition to stock, 50% of the investment will be credited in tokens during the AIR ICO. This is being done through BnkToTheFuture, an investment platform that specializes in fintech. The goal of this round is 1.5 million and at the moment of this writing 1.3 million have already been pledged.

I am currently working with some of the most extraordinary people I've met on the blockchain strategy for AirTM. Stay tunned.

Raúl,
AirTM CFO

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Does this mean you have quite a few resources with which to buy some steem?

I like all crypto... at times

And the other times?

How exciting! Do you have any advice on how to enter this industry? I currently work as an SAP consultant and am also a 'crypto-fan'.

Can I send you an e-mail?

If I may ask. What do you mean by " I started programming some neural net bots"?

Interesting post... I defiantly see your side here. Thanks for sharing!

I am doing this for anyone and all the information is great, thank you for putting it

I think crypto currency's can help fill the void for people that don't have a bank account. You can also help fill the void where the transactions are very small and service fees would make it impossible to do business. I still think people that make more than $50,000 year will prefer to use banks.

There are very few cryptocurrencies that works for micro payments at the moment. Its too expensive, doesnt scale or doesnt have enough liquidity, with maybe a few exeptions.
I dont see why higher income should make you prefer banks. Personally I dont, and I know many who feel the same, regardless of income. In fact I would say that opposite is just as likely to be true. People with higher income would have much more to gain from using cryptocurrencies and a higher risk tolerance.

Insightful post. Nice blog to follow and stay tuned to.

I am new to crypto so any and all information is great thank you for putting this out there.

Since you have a banking background what are you thoughts regarding Ripple XRP?

hehe I am finding myself thinking about changing up as well. Its such an immature industry that will grow even bigger than it is now in the future. I find it funny when you try talk to people about it and they have no clue what the heck you are talking about :)

many many thanks for sharing this . thank you so much

Excellent..

Now, you are in right train. Keep going.

Insightful post. Nice blog to follow and stay tuned to

Well done. Great career ahead of you.

To be continued... I will follow you and your story... Thanks for sharing!

nice post.

Hola Raúl muy interesante tu trayectoria. Estoy muy familiarizado con AirTM y he estado tratando de implementar una solución a gran escala respaldada en criptomonedas.

Suena cool. Tienes e-mail?

it such a good job to have it

Good Share.. thanks I follow You.

I am looking in to your post. And other then the subjects it self another thing grasp my attention. You have 12.40 for 99 votes. That is way to less. How is that possible

It depends on the steem power of the individual andd individuals who don't own steem for instance have less voting power than those who own substantial amounts.

Not everyone has the luxury of knowing what they want to do, I wouldn't have left the sweet corporate office job if I were you and for that I wish you every bit of success in your current venture !

Well, most of the time I'm not sure what I want. Thanks!

Hola Raul. Te escribe un compatriota mexicano, deberíamos tener un meetup para consolidar el blockchain mexicano

Añádeme en FB: raul3820

Congratulations @raul3820! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Join Regalcoin ICO...

Register here: https://regalcoin.co/ref/REEDG

I am doing music & crypto.

one request please read this post

Cryptocurrency is the future, if I get enough likes I will give crypto binary and forex signals!

Wonderful Post. Thanks for sharing this post.

GET Your Web Hosting for $10 USD while STOCK LAST. Only STEEM and STEEM DOLLAR Accepted - HURRY NOW!!!
https://steemit.com/steem/@steemserver/get-your-web-hosting-for-usd10-usd-while-stock-last-only-steem-and-steem-dollar-accepted-hurry-now

Hi, I just upvoted this great post and hoping you could do the same to this post of mine: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@glasscannon/hola-steemit-its-nishant-xd
Thanksss!!!!!!!!

Yo guys, come over to this post to Upvote for DUF over FUD...
https://steemit.com/duf/@fourflames/let-s-not-use-fud-and-start-using-duf-instead

Cheers! :')

Great read, I'm also in consulting at the moment and studying crypto in the side. I'm also feelings there's willbe a big shift in the marketplace soon and want to be a part of it. Followed and upvoted.

A very wise career move. Cryptocurrencies and blockchain technologies are the future.

Very interesting project!

Really nice read...

buena información buen post

I feel very happy to upvote and follow you. Please help me upvote

Nice post @raul... Following u

How can I be apart of AirTm

Depends on what you want to do =) client? investor? collaborator? supporter?

how does one make a block chain what do i need to study or what do i have to do ?
in what type of computer do you create a block chain and its coding necessary to making it , are there different types of code?

I am very interested in learning more i have invested in all bitcoin eth and litecoin but i want to get involved in developing

Exciting stuff, hope it works out for you buddy, all the best.

I love your story! I just learned about crypto currencies a week ago and have already become a cryptomaniac so I totally understand what you describe in this post!

Your banking background can be an edge.

hell yea! let mine a month ago as well. crypto was on my mine all day!

Interesting read. Some nice points made.

Congratulations @raul3820! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

There are 2 pages
Pages