You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AIRDROPS - do you LOVE OR HATE them? or simply don't care?

in #blockchain5 years ago

Hey @crypto.piotr,

interesting perspective from the point of view of an investor, I never thought about it in that way. It does seem quite unfair to investors to devalue their investment by giving away free tokens which others paid for. Disclosing the details of such actions before hand would be the logical thing to do for all ICO's.

We should demand it implemented as a standard piece of information ICO's and IEO's should disclose before going live with the first sale.

Have a good one,

Cheers!

Sort:  

Dear @runicar

I appreciate a lot your mature comment and I'm glad that we're coming to similar conclusions. Building our awareness is what we can do to protect ourselfs.

Yours
Piotr

The only problem I foresee is the portion of investors who would still not care to inform themselves beforehand, but then again, why should I care if they can't do some good old fashioned research to inform themselves fully, I guess they deserve to get "burnt" :D

Dear @runicar

I would also like to ask you a question. What is your opinion on KYC required by so many airdrops?

Personally I strongly believe that each crypto/ICO that require KYC should be required by law to receive licence that would allow them to proceed with KYC. And in order to receive that licence, they would have to prove to local authorities that they follow some security standard and all collected informations are safe.

My biggest worry is the fact, that right now anyone can claim that they are "forced by regulators" to proceed with KYC and this is currently the easiest way to collect our personal data by 3rd parties. And we cannot know how well secured those datas are. We cannot even know if company is legit and isn't planning to sell those data to another 3rd party.

Have a great friday :)
Yours, Piotr

That's a valid concern @crypto.piotr and one I'm confronted with each and every time when an airdrop asks for a full KYC. I'm not overly concerned about them selling the data but I am concerned about identity theft.

For that reason, I decline to participate in any airdrop which isn't hosted by a credible company that has already been in business for a while and has built a name for itself. Those are highly unlikely to risk trashing their reputation for our ID's and they are the only ones to whom I'll hand over my information.

That's just my two cents on it. What do you think?

Have a good one,

cheers!

Dear @runicar

i've very similar approach to KYC and airdrops

I just realized that I never had a chance to read and reply this comment. Not even simple "thank you". Sorry about it.

Just wanted to let you know that finally I did read it and I'm very grateful for your constant support and for being so responsive.

Yours
Piotr

No worries! I like what you are doing here and admire to amount of work you put into your community.

Keep it up!

Cheers :D

It does mean a lot to be appreciated by people I value. And you're definetly one of them @runicar

Cheers :) Piotr