You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reputational Enhanced Delegated Proof-of-Stake (REDPOS)

"...such an attack costs more and is harder to execute than the current attack going on STEEM."

That's true, but I think the important question is whether it would be harder enough.

I am not familiar with @blocktrades efforts to improve rep. It definitely needs improvement IMHO. However, as I pointed out, IRL rep is highly subjective and individual, and that's most of why it's useful. I don't see some kind of standardized rep that's calculable as emulating that utility.

Thanks again.

Sort:  

I think we should not shy away from the subjective nature of it. Nobody is expected to get along with everyone. That is how it should be on here.

In a shameless shilling of my own ideas, I posted my take and proposed solution on rep a couple of days ago. It's on my blog if you'd like to voice your opinion.

In the end,I think it will take a number of different systems which conclude on rep in different ways. Having several points of views will allow dapps and users a better picture of who/what various accounts are.

Don't be shy about posting a link to your proposal, doing now for you: Steem Proposal - Account Rating System

From your proposal:

To put it another way, no belief or opinion is more valid than another. Therefore, such a system could not include stake as a variable.

I don't agree, stake related vote is a meassure that turns a sybil attack into a costly endeavour.

Also experience makes certain opinions more qualified than other ones.

It's not logic to put the same value on a witness with 0 year experience at the same level of a witness with 4 year experience. When you are looking for a job, that's an important item.

Agreed. It's about two different subjects:

A) Protocol philosophy. If REDPOS protocol is an improvement over DEPOS for a social blockchain.

B) If a specific implementation on a certain protocol is a better system than what exists today.

I strongly believe that REDPOS is a protocol philosophy that represents an evolution over DEPOS.

But I am no developer. It's out of my reach to produce such an implementation. It would need really good developers to produce a "NEWSTEEM on REDPOS". Just wishing some good ones, understand the need to evolve DPOS and maybe work on some REDPOS alike implementation.