Block Mountain Submission /// Riggsyfort

in #blockmountain6 years ago

Steemians! Riggsyfort here, and this is my submission for the Block Mountain project. Hip Hop has always been something that has vibed with me and since the days of writing poetry to freestyle cyphers in high school to eventually recording and producing beats. It's been an avenue of expression, and I love the melding of genres of music with the power of lyricism, and the ability of the beat to get your head bobbin or your body dancing to it's rhythms. In my expression, it's lead me inward to reflect on my life and times and how I process. It's a beautiful thing to look back and have captured an essence and perspective from your life in exact moments that will live on past you. I would contribute my production and emceeing to the project.

No Good Thing Ever Dies
Every year on the anniversary of when my dad passed away I make a little something to commemorate him and to keep him fresh in my mind, heart, and creative spirit. I wanted to make something with a trumpet that help me float into reminiscing about him. He's still the model of the man I'm trying to achieve to be. He's alive with me every single day, no good thing ever dies.

GMDGTS
I really appreciate the progression of music these days in production and the blending and melding of genres. I rapped over Star Slinger's remix of Gold Panda as it had a great pace and vibe. I appreciate emcees that can swag out and bring that bravado as it's not something that comes naturally to me, so this for me was a way to write about my pov of my life in terms of my mission and views at the time in 2014. I had two buddies, one a director, and one a dancer help me out for the video.

RisingGoodHop
This was a submission I turned into for one of the producer challenges here on Steemit. I made this beat as I started a Freestyle Cypher Club at a school I teach at and wanted to connect with the students and create an exchange of their freestyles and my beats.

Much love to this initiative and thanks for checking it out. Peace!

Sort:  

Dude, that music video is legit the shit!! Way cool.

Right on Derek, thanks man, much appreciated!!

Dope Works! Kudos

Much love, thank you!