You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pros and cons of two versions of Steem Proposal System

in #blocktrades5 years ago (edited)

After reading some of the comments here I wanted to share a system I've been working on for @ocdb. Could probably be the added donation proposal but it could include some inflation and burning and I would love to hear others thoughts on it.

An account that receives donations and votes, it will never sell but instead delegates them to a distribution bot. Donations and votes get powered up and the returns from the bot are collected for funding. This would take donations, inflation through ROI and when/if the time comes it is not needed anymore it would power everything down and send to @null.

I realize that this will not be a lot and there's an extra step to use the ROI instead of the donations directly, but if voters know they are effectively burning Steem in the future they may be more interested to allocate a percentage of the rewardpool through votes. Same thing goes for donations. Maybe we could add "promoted" and "declined rewards" to go to the funding account as well as @theycallmedan mentioned. Add some gamification and statistics plus leaderboards for most donated/beneficiary share that week or an actual minigame that costs Steem to play and it'll add up quickly.

So the reason I prefer this method is cause the incentive is that you burn Steem later, over time that Steem has funded things through generation of ROI from bid bots/distribution bots and later when/if prices are a lot higher it will benefit everyone that the Steem gets burned when the fund isn't needed anymore.

Having said that it's not easy to visualize the difference between this and taking a cut from everyone's rewards and it may not be the best way to kickstart it as it needs some runway.

Opinions are welcomed.

Sort:  

Add some gamification and statistics plus leaderboards for most donated/beneficiary share that week or an actual minigame that costs Steem to play and it'll add up quickly.

Did you say "gamification" and "leaderboards"? That sounds right up my alley. 😉

Well at least the gamification via leaderboards that is. Actual minigames isn't ground I have treaded just yet.

I do have reservations about anything bid bot as you may already know but am less averse idea of a non-profit one such as @ocdb than users selling votes for profit.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've paid little attention to bidbot economics, spending my attention on issues that I am more interested in, so I am probably failing to grasp this idea completely. That being said, I'm not convinced that using bidbots will prove appropriate for funding essential development of core blockchain infrastructure, due to variation in inflows, as well as potential mismatch with funding needs.

I will give this more thought, and don't consider this initial assessment final. I did want to mention my initial thoughts so that folks might refine my inadequate understanding, or address relevant issues raised.

Thanks!