You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to convert Steem/SBD to USD/Euro more efficiently

in #blocktrades7 years ago (edited)

Stop buying.
You've already donated enough.
And also read berniesanders' post about what he calls "The Asian Scheme" and some of the replies there.
What you cash in, they cash out.

Your author and curation rewards will not cope with the expected crash in steem price. It is already down almost 50% from its highs, and not a bargain.
Dan and Ned try to liquidate their stake, but they can't do it without crashing it harder.
What you cash in, they cash out.
craig-grant is also looking for a getaway opportunity.
Look at this:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@me-tarzan/bitcoin-bid-to-buy-steem-numbers-falling

And no, it is not because poloniex like me-tarzan wants you to believe.
You should follow his blog, not his opinion and advise.
He has a good data-collecting bot.

One result of "The Asian Scheme" is the reward pool being raped as they say.

Sort:  

I think that compared to many other crypto currencies that are basically just monetized global warming, and fiat currency that are basically monetized debt, steem value, at least for a large part is "great content", and if people who treat it differently "pull out" while reducing the direct monetary value will in the long run also reduce the amount of voting-circle crap content and further increase the "great content" to steem market capetalisation ratio.

For me, writing fiction and self-publishing that fiction as free e-books is a hobby and at the moment steemit is helping me both fund that hobby and improve the quality of my work by allowing me to take part in the steem ecconomy. I'm giving the steemit early access to my work in progress and I am making some steem and SBD that I can than later use to solicit valuable input by running review and beta reading contests and loteries that help improve my quality of work further. And given that I believe in a great content based ecconomy, I aim for a 75% 25% split for my steem power. That is, I'm investing 25 steem power for every 75 steem power my fiction writing brings in. That really isn't a huge buy in in fiat currency terms as 75% of my investment is providing what I hope is good content to the platform.

I am hoping this makes some sense and it makes sense that people pulling out should be good for the quality of the platform in the long run. A great-content based ecconomy should be way better than a monetized global warming based ecconomy afaics and certainly better than a debt based ecconomy.

I agree with you about "monetized global warming" about Proof-of-Work, but there are also Proof-of-Stake, and Proof-of-_____ (insert other assurance mechanisms) currencies, so not all are monetized global warming.
Not every crypto is a PoW.
Regarding "the debt", I advise you hear some Warren Mosler about his Modern-Monetary-Theory.
I don't agree with everything he says, yet still he is more truthful and less misleading than the gold and silver and debt doomsday crowd.
I am for disbanding central banks in their current common model.
Cryptos are fiat as well.

I hope you will rethink my previous comment, and stop monetizing spammers that joined this platform only to take out of it.
I too joined in intention to benefit myself, and when possible and appropriate, particular (only those deserving!) others too, and putting fiat into another fiat asset that is being inflated as well, and is bound to keep plunging in value (barring a few spikes due to a few rich and dim-witted individuals) is not benefiting myself, and yes benefiting mostly the serial mass spammers, whom never put anything valuable into this place, not content-wise, not maintenance-wise, and not cash-value-wise.
They only overload the blockchain and make its maintenance impossible sooner than without them.
Have your work backed up, make your public profiles at other portals visible, so your few real followers can find you once this one goes lights out, and please consider stopping monetizing pyramid schemes and monetized spamming, even if you think you can afford it.

Oh, and George Donnelly www.youtube.com/user/georgedonnelly , a fiction writer like you, and a former steemian with quite a bit knowledge about it changed his mind about it from enthusiastic to dismissive.
Just watch how much content he uploaded to youtube about it, so I bet he could tell you why it is bad.
He is very nice and responsive, so you should find the point where he changed his mind, and if you have question left after then, he probably will tell you why it's bad.

And recently I read that both jerrybanfield and I think blocktrades or another user recommended using Ethereum or LiteCoin as an intermediate instead of BTC, due to lower transaction fees, but stopping wasting your cash is still better than wasting it more efficiently.