You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BlockTrades adds new OPEN.USD <-> Steem/Steem Dollars purchase paths

One giant step forward yes, but does anyone know the legality and essentially "what's the hold-up?" to simply opening an account somewhere (anywhere?) where I can enter my bank account routing/account number (like Coinbase), and use my USD to purchase Steem? And then cash it back to the same bank account on demand? A small fee would be understandable of course.
I'm sure it's just a matter of time (I hope), just wondering tho. Is the best solution to this problem as simple as "bug Coinbase?" or are Steemit users and Inc "all over this and working as fast as they can...?" Because I'd rather pay a Steemian developer the fee(s). Heck or even $6.95 - $24.95 USD to open an account, then "trade" without fees? I'm rambling sorry!

Sort:  

In an ideal world, it would be pretty simple. Unfortunately, regulations on this vary from country to country, and the regulations in the US are both ambiguous and simultaneously draconian.

Thanks @blocktrades... I just can't figure out why coinbase can do it for a bitcoin, but isn't doing it for Steem yet. Maybe as a dedicated Steemian, I'm just over estimating the demand, or they already would have by now?

Coinbase is pretty conservative: they only opened up to trading Ether and Litecoin recently.

Thanks again for the info and sharing your expertise. And I sincerely apologize as well, as it had to seem that I was diminishing your work by bitching about what can't be done yet, anywhere. So sorry man. I signed/up opened an account on blocktrades.us but I don't know what to d with it from there. I'm just that crypto illiterate to date.