I do not like current GAFA occupied world

in #blog3 years ago (edited)

image.png

Recently I found one of my favorite gardeners GrownToCook was calling for patrons and I became one of them. I'm happy if I can support her work with around $10/mo. I learn a lot from her videos and book.

https://www.youtube.com/post/UgyzZhLPU08BsZ2weGV4AaABCQ?lc=Ugxj2znD-R8LX4OFq_l4AaABAg.9K3kTAbwUAO9K6lSLwFHSz&lc=Ugxj2znD-R8LX4OFq_l4AaABAg.9K3kTAbwUAO9K6lSLwFHSz

The reason she started calling for patrons was that she could not insert ADs in her videos to monetize her contents because Google blocked her.

Everyone should have equal chance. For this sense, I like Hive.blog and decentralized services a lot. On Hive there is no centralized entity like Google that judges users and their contents. It's fair that we users can vote to quality of contents and reward content creators.

At SteemFest3, @aggroed talked his experience that facebook kicked him out because of his political posts. I like the title of his talk describing Steemit well (back then) "peace abundance and liberty".

Another thing I did not feel comfortable about was there were some unfriendly complaints to her decision. I understand it may not be affordable for all. At the same time she has to make her living by providing contents as she explains. Everything is not for free.

I think we get used to consume contents for free for the last 20 years (!) Actually it is not for free as we are exposed to ADs and our information is taken away.

I wonder what is best for us. Just I can say I do not like the current GAFA occupied world. While their services are convenient, I slowly slowly get out from their territory. I now use Brave browser mainly.


Photo: I sowed last pieces of broad beans that I bought from @bghandmade with STEEM at @homesteaderscoop. Good old memory :) I must take some seeds this year to success the seeds.