Some of my dearest places in South Sardinia (with Sascha)

in #blog6 months ago (edited)

Ciao, people of Hive! ✌️🇮🇹
A couple of days ago, I published a little introduction about myself (here). Now it's finally time to show you some of my usual places in Sardinia. In doing this, I also want to celebrate the person that made me land on the Hive universe, Sascha, a girl from Netherlands: she reached the south-west of my island with her campervan and we traveled together for a couple of days.
Let me give you a little preview...
IMG_4616.JPG
IMG_4647.JPG
photo_2023-11-15_23-31-11.jpg
photo_2023-11-15_23-31-10.jpg
...but okay, let's proceed with order!

Lagoon of Santa Caterina

After having lunch in Sant'Antioco, we had a walk on the shores of Santa Caterina lagoon, an immense saline with a large colony of pink flamingos. These marvelous migratory animals tend to nest in Sardinia for some months, coming from other parts of Mediterraean Sea (France, Spain, Greece, Turkey).
DSC07755.JPG
DSC07757.JPG
DSC07759.JPG
DSC07767.JPG

photo_2023-11-15_23-31-00.jpg
This whole area is perfect for biking or riding a horse, and I do it everytime I can.
IMG_2000.JPG

Turri – Cannai tower

One of my favorite places in Sant’Antioco. This tower was built in 1757 in order to look out for the Ottoman pirates. Turri, in fact, means tower in Sardinian language. This area is totally natural and uncontaminated, rich of Mediterranean scrub and wild animals, mostly foxes, boars, weasels, turtles and hares.
photo_2023-11-15_23-31-07.jpg
photo_2023-11-15_23-31-08.jpg

Nebida

I kept my favorite place for the second day. Sascha didn’t even know where we were going. I just proposed this place as a kind of surprise, giving her a clue: “Do you like stairs?”. She accepted the game and followed me without any further question. Indeed...
IMG_4593.JPG
IMG_4597.JPG
IMG_4598.JPG
I brought her to Nebida, a suggestive mining village. This ancient corner of Sardinia is so incredibly rich that they used to extract silver, lead, zinc, copper and iron. The building you can see in these pictures is named Laveria Lamarmora, a washery where minerals were cleaned and loaded on the ships. It has been gradually abandoned in the last 100 years, but it's still a magical, enchanting, blessed place kissed by every sort of good luck: a wonderful singing sea down below, many kinds of Mediterranean plants and scents all around and an open view to the West, where waves and mistral wind strike hard and the sun goes down on the horizon at sunset. The result is always stunning, no matter what's the season, the weather or the time of the day.
IMG_4601.JPG
IMG_4604.JPG
DSC07876.JPG
DSC07908.JPG
IMG_4623.JPG
IMG_4607.JPG
IMG_4626.JPG
Here, we casually met Jagoda, a girl from Poland that is currently traveling around Sardinia with her car. Curious coincidence: we had seen her also in our same pizza place the night before, 40 kilometers away from Nebida! Destiny wanted us to be friends. We explored the little village of Nebida all together, and finally watched the sunset sitting on the rocks.
IMG20231114170725.jpg
I want to thank Sascha and Jagoda because, even if I saw these places many times, it was my first time doing it with foreign people. This gave me the precious chance to admire my homeland for the first time again, as if it was a new place, through the wondering gaze of two girls from the north. It was really a powerful emotion, filled my soul in a different way.

🙏 So, Hive people, I hope you liked this little virtual trip! Thank you for your company and the time you spent reading these lines. Let me know your impressions in the comments, or share with me your favorite places in your city! 🙏

Also, little recommendation: you can follow Sascha's adventure here. Her travel by campervan started on May 2023 in Netherlands and it’s still far from a conclusion. Check her blog, you won’t regret!


See you soon,

Alessandro ✌️🇮🇹

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

beautiful place my friend it reminds me of a part of venezuela like the island of margarita and cumana

I will need to google those places just right now 😁 I've never been to South America so far, but it's on top of my list. Places, culture, music, vibes... everything is super fascinating to my eyes!
Nice to meet you, my friend ✌️

i am going to show you a little bit about the beauty of venezuela by the way have friends living in venezuela franco alerio from sicily and salvador sole from siracusa

Congratulations @alecaltab! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - November 15, 2023

🖤🖤🖤

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2062.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: