Late night thoughts: starting a mini cafe

in #blog6 years ago
It was love at first sip. I've been a coffee enthusiast since 2013. I've tried different varities and so far i loved all of them - no discrimination!!!. It's a little fantasy of mine to open up my own cafe but i haven't really seriously thought about it. My current financial condition wouldn't allow me to fulfill such fantasies but i'm still going to try to visualize and plan a cafe. (i've done some researches for the past years, always updated with coffee costs and matters)

So i calculated a plan that would enable me to open a cafe with just $8000 dollars. But first, how would i have $8000?? Taking inflation into consideration, it would have the same purchasing power as that of $9051 in 2023 and $8831 in 2022. [Calculated with the help of https://smartasset.com/investing/inflation-calculator#Ox4MgYV7kD]

If i would be able to save $150 per month then...
$150 x 12 = $1800 per year
1800 x 5 = $9000
That's just $51 short for me to possibly open the cafe by 2023

But if i'm able to save $200 per month....
$200 x 12 = $2400 per year
$2400 x 3.5 = $9600 in 2022
That would give me $769 extra money for the open the cafe by 2022

Of course, the $200 option is more promising. I just need to maintain a $400 salary in order to live. I also need to find other sources of income.

Budget Allocation

For the budget, i plan to have the following allocations:

  • Location: Garage Space with monthly rent of Php20000 ($380) a month. A total of Php 60000 ($1140) for advance and deposits.
  • Php 20000 ($380) for the electricity and water bill for 1st month. This includes internet connection too.
  • Php 30000 ($560) for the business registration, permits, other requirements, and labor fee for the ones that i would hire to take care of the process.
  • Php100000 ($1870) for furniture, interior design,and labor for construction workers.
  • Php80000 ($1500) for coffee machines and equipments
  • Php50000 ($940) for additional baking supplies and equipments for my brother already has a mini business on cakes and pastries.
  • Php30000 ($560) for the first month salary of 3 workers
  • extra for miscellaneous fees and emergency fund

Cafe theme

I really love aesthetic and chill vibe so the theme would be along the lines of aesthetic chill. I also like the feel of wood materials. Of all the cafes the i've been too, those that have wood materials tend to make you feel relaxed and at home. When it comes to the furnitures and interior designs, i prefer to have simple ones - nothing fancy. I want to cater to middle class people.


Image Source

Since i love reading, I plan to have a huge bookshelf filled with novels and academic books. If i could implement it, people could donate their beloved book in exchange for coffee. I would also encourage dedication or recommendation messages written inside the donated books.


Image Source

There would be acoustic nights every friday and saturday. There would also be portions for open mic performances. I love this part. I'll be able to meet more musicians.

Operation Hours

Initially, i plan to open at 9 am- 10 pm (minimize costs too). After a while, ill extend it from 6:30 am - 12 midnight. If the cafe becomes successful, it'll be nice to open for 24 hours.

Menu

  • For the coffee menu, i want the customers to experience different coffee cultures around the world. Aside from introducing the different varities, i want the customers to feel like they're travelling. I plan to include things such as vietnamese coffee, irish coffee (the one with whiskey), etc. If you want to know more about different coffee culture, you can visit this blog. I understand that due to budget constraints, i wouldn't be able to serve everything but maybe little by little, i'll be able to include things on the menu.

  • For the pastries, i'll just have them handle it. They're already producing pastries and cakes so i don't need to stress myself with that.

  • For the price range, it should stay at the $1-$5 range.

Payments and accounting

For payments i could use my coins.ph account. I'll be able to receive php,btc,and eth. If i'm not mistaken, there's no fee for coins.ph-coins.ph wallet transfers. I could also just pay my bills with the app. Saves me from other transaction and transportation fees. It also wouldn't be a problem to accept neo/neogas payments. I expect that there wouldn't be any profits in the 1st-2nd months so i'll have to prepare for that.

Reality check

Granting that i would be able to save up until 2022, without a salary raise and other source of income, it will be hard to achieve the goal. Also, inflation increases the cost of living, cost of equipments, cost of manpower, cost of products, etc. So those should be taken into consideration too. But then, taking into consideration the unpredictable nature of human life, maybe not in 4 years time, could be more or less, i might finally be able to open one. I should probably seriously develop a business plan. And i should probably sleep now 😴😴.

Sort:  

Congratulations @angelicagalvez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!