What is a mandala?

in #blog3 years ago (edited)

This is a question I asked a number of years ago when I met a mandala artist. Her name is Lyne, a lady who has psychic skills. Lyne reads for anyone who asks, but of late she prefers to paint people's mandalas. After meeting and chatting with a person she gets a very good image of his/her psychic and glimpses into their inner self, their soul. The mandalas are reflections of you.

I have received two mandala from Lyne over the years, gifts that have unexpected and handed to me with a smile. I recall my feelings of surprise on both occasions. Is this really a reflection of my soul? The first mandala has hung on a wall in my home for a lot of years.

IMG_4044.jpg

This last mandala painting is a very recent gift. I recall hearing Lyne say that our souls keep evolving and this one is what she is seeing currently. I can see flowers filling the canvas, the bright colours that will never fade as they so joyfully smile to me on a canvas.

IMG_4043.jpg

Intrigued about mandalas I have done some exploring which has proved most enlightening. I like Anneli Andersson's description of a mandala in her article in 2017, About the Mandala - Its meaning, design and colouring. It is easy to understand.

The meaning of the word mandala in Sanskrit is circle. Mandala is a spiritual and ritual symbol in Hinduism and Buddhism, representing the universe. The circular designs symbolizes the idea that life is never ending and everything is connected. The mandala also represents spiritual journey within the individual viewer. Mandala

Focusing on a mandala during meditation is a common practice used in religious and spiritual communities. It is a helpful aid for anyone who is starting their journey in meditation.

There are classes for anyone who wants to engage in the artistic and therapeutic world of mandalas. You can learn how to draw your own mandala easily with the help of a teacher and if you cannot get to a class the next best alternative is online. I found Thaneeya who gives any inquisitive individual a step by step process to create his/her own mandala. Find it on art-is-fun.com

Here a completed mandala on her page, I feel inspired and am going to follow her steps and create a mandala.

New Note.jpeg

I am not sure if I can paint like Lyne, she has a unique and exceptional painting style. But I feel that anyone can create a mandala and it will be just perfect.

Goodbye for today and thank you for reading my words

When I look at this pretty flower all I can see is the inner circle, it has to be nature's mandala. How amazing and wondrous is nature, the colours etheric and bright. This is my inspiration for my mandala.

IMG_4034.jpg

IMG_4034.jpg

alwaysaflower brought by @dswigle



Sort:  

I have known several Mandela artists, each such expressive, interesting, exceptionally high cognitive skills. I have never possessed any of these things, but, I am always intrigued by it.

Thank you for sharing this and the paintings. I look forward to seeing what you create!

Have a wonderful weekend!

I am feeling a little daunted by the task but am determined to give it a go. I will find out about how good my cognitive skills creating a mandala. Enjoy your weekend, Saturday and Sunday are always those leisurely days we all need especially if you work.

ps: Is it okay if I call you Denise? I realised I did so in a comment recently.
Angie🌻

Of course! Ever since I jumped onto social media, I have used Denise. So yes, that feels fine.

I encourage you to give it a go, I will bet you are better than you know. I find myself lacking the creative gene for those sort of things, yet my girls are creative, my son... he is all me. :))

Yes! The weekend is cooler, but, that is a nice change.

I started experimenting yesterday, thinking that I will be layers upon layers at this stage of my mandala art😊

How exciting!!! ❤️

WE have 16 degrees this morning and it is autumn!

That is downright cool for autumn, yes? I know I would think so. It is warmer here in December!

Beautiful

Thank you @dishantt018, it says everything about a mandala.💜

Thanks for sharing your Mandela Angie. A flower filled one seems like a great one to mediate on. The second one seems a little different as if you are searching more and finding life is not always a bed of flowers.

It will be interesting to complete one yourself.

I have started a mandala Jo, but the cleaning up and putting away stage is taking all my energy😐. Necessary and has to be done!