I Quit Eating for 28 Days [Water Fast] : Day 3 (Gut Microbiome)

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Bitopian-Journey-THO-Cover.jpg

I am going on a 28 day fast :



To Lose Weight
For Better Health
To Attain an Elevated State of Consciousness
To be more like Jesus, for Jesus Fasted for 40 days

I Ran Out Of Money.

Check out Day 1 if you haven't yet seen it : I Quit Eating for 28 Days [Water Fast] : Day 1


Day 3 of 28


Here I am on day 3! Though to be quite honest, it really hasn’t even started for real as I am still consuming calories in the form of fat. Today will be the final day of the transitional period of my fast and starting tomorrow I will have nothing but water and Himalayan Sea Salt for the remainder of the 25 days.

I faced some mild discomfort before and during sleep where I had dry-mouth and some discomfort in the stomach, which I was not too hard to ignore. I woke up in the morning not feeling quite the best, but once again, considerably mild discomfort.

What I had


In the morning, I had a cup of Bulletproof Coffee, a blend of MCT Oil, heavy cream and butter, Bone Broth and 2 Tablets of Orange Triad.

20171122_103100.jpg


However my body seems to be rejecting the broth for some reason, so I didn’t finish even a third of the bowl and didn’t have any for the rest of the day. After the first cup of Bulletproof Coffee, I felt better than ever and basically stayed in that state for the remainder of the day.

In total, I had 3 cups of Bulletproof Coffee and 2 tablets of Orange Triad. This will be the final intake of all fat, coffee and multivitamins. Consuming a total of estimated 1000 calories again today.

Starting right now, I will consuming nothing but water and Himalayan Sea Salt.The transition period is over and it is time for to begin the true state of fasting.


State of Being

Hunger pangs today is even lower than yesterday at about a 2/10. I felt for the most part, quite fine as if it were just a normal day until I remind myself that I haven’t had any solid food for over 3 days now.

Mentally, I am also doing quite alright, not much difference from my regular state of mind.

What I find interesting is how easy I am taking this on, I am still cooking meals for my partner and even as I sit across the table watching her eat bread rolls and muffins and whatnot, I am barely affected by any of it.

Productivity has been quite alright as well, I even managed to have a extended moment of mental clarity where I went into deep contemplation and planning on how to move forward and plan my content to make money here on Steemit.

I intend to ramp up my content production to about 2-3 posts a day between this account and @Bitopia with a very specific content strategy which I hashed and am quite happy with. 2 posts as a baseline amount of content to post a day, 3 as an optimal situation. In total I have about 30 posts pre-planned awaiting me to write, with an overarching plan of how they all come together.


Fasting for Better Health

Once again, the idea that you get healthy by denying your body food is a very weird concept to digest. I definitely would have been able to discern this myself. However, it is the truth nonetheless.

The resting of your digestive system

What we often do not consider, is the fact that digesting of food, uses quite a bit of energy. As counterintuitive as that sounds, just like virtually everything to do with fasting, is something that takes some time to wrap your head around.

The thing is that, your body doesn’t really need that much food to survive, and as a modern society, we chronically overeat. Not only do overeat, the kinds of foods we consume tend to be processed and void of the thing that your body actually needs. Nutrients.

So for the most part, think of eating processed foods as taxing your body as opposed to feeding your body. Since you don’t give you body what it actually needs, nutrients while your body has to spend energy digesting the food, alongside all of the generally unwanted additives that comes with processed foods which your body needs to spend energy getting rid of i.e. Trans fats, mineral-void sodium, sugar.

We often do this 3 times a day, 7 days a week, non-stop for our entire lives.

Your digestive system more often than not actually need a break. By fasting, you give you digestive system that chance to rest and repair itself.

The Resetting of your Gut Microbiome

You, are not really you. You are made up of trillions of microorganisms living within you. For good and for bad. Your gut, is where most of them live. Within your gut microbiome, these microorganisms, depending on what you’ve been eating is a mix of microorganisms which make up whether or not your body work well, or works poorly.

By going on a fast, you are essentially shutting down your gut microbiome completely, essentially starving out majority of the microorganisms that live in there. In doing so, you have the rare opportunity, of being able to repopulate your gut microbiome with microorganisms of your choice.

When you break your fast, the very first few things that you eat will be your new internal family. For good or for bad. As such, I obviously intend to break my fast after resetting my gut with only the best you can imagine.

flora.jpg

The plan is to start with natural probiotics like Apple Cider Vinegar, and prebiotics like chlorophyll to give my stomache a new family the likes they have never seen before.

If I look at my gut microbiome as a home, what I am doing is moving out all of the old furniture, ripping out all the shitty drapes, hosing down the entire house and bleaching it. Then, I’m getting all brand new top of the line furniture moved in after. It’s a full blown renovation for my gut.

The importance of good gut health cannot be understated. It is the defining factor to how you feel, how your body heals itself and your health in general. It is city central of your body. The better your gut health is, the better your entire life will be.

MicrobiomeGraphic.jpg

The end result, will be at the end of a fast, if you do it right of course, will lead you to better health, the likes of which no medicine can provide you.

It really is an incredible way to heal yourself and it still strikes me every single time, that the solution, is to simply, to stop eating. It never ceases to amaze me.

I think the importance of the gut microbiome on health is often extremely under represented, if you'd like to understand more about your gut microbiome, I'd suggest checking out this video which explains it as simply as possible and in a easy to understand way!

That’s all I have for today, tomorrow, my real journey of my fast begins and I actually look forward to it.

Till tomorrow,

God Speed Brethren.


Follow me on this journey

I intend to continue this format for my posts everyday, where I share the progress of my fast what I am experiencing, as well as delving into the science behind what is happening.

So if this is interesting to you, please stay tuned, as I will be posting once a day for the next 28 days!

God Speed Brethren.

Some of my earlier posts you may like :





Join the Bitopia community on Freebitco.in and Earn The Highest Amount of Bitcoins possible


Sort:  

Are you serious ?:)

Once again, the idea that you get healthy by denying your body food is a very weird concept to digest.

Maybe it's because the idea is about not digesting, ha :D

There's a lot of stuff going on in the gut, I reckon.

Yes there is! It is the centre piece of body and in responsible for alot of the workings of our body! Fasting specifically flushes out everything that is there, if you fast long enough that is.. Giving you the opportunity to repopulate your gut micro flora with the stuff you do want when you eat again, short of the stuff that you don't want which died with the fast!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

This post has received a 4.55 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @bitopia. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 11.26 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @bitopia.