It's felt like a slow moving trainwreck!

in #blog3 years ago (edited)

thomas tank trainwreck.gif

Know times have been rough for a lot of of us lately. I'm turning 35 years old this week and made a decision.

I'm giving up the bottle. Simple as that

Been using alcohol as a bit of a crutch and had convinced myself it was a good remedy for certain health issues but it got a bit out of hand as of late.

Truth of the matter, the sort of things I been dealing with could have been addressed other ways such as with probiotics (seasonal allergies - stomach issues) without the a steep price.

Anyways, I took the "perfect storm" of circumstances but finally caught the a glimpse of clarity


To be perfectly clear, I am NOT fishing for sympathy.

Quite the contrary, I am seeking forgiveness from my friends in the community that have had to put up with me.

More importantly, been distracting myself from the people and things that matter most so it was well past time for a reality check.

img_0.9951036201678929.jpg
Pumpkin we did the other day 🎃

Have not been as involved as I ought to be and I am changing that as of this morning

  • Took my daughter on a wagon ride
  • Played fetch with my dog Sammy boy

Next on the agenda

  • Plan a romantic candelit dinner with the wife (haven't done this since lockdowm started. Crazy. I now)
  • Family Halloween Costumes!

img_0.8360615312075012.jpg

All in all, I am resolved to do better and this is Day 1. Thanks for sticking with me, friends!

It's greatly appreciated!


P. S. I may be a bit sparse around while I work on getting myself sorted but rest assured will be back soon and ready to work on cool things for Hive!

Sort:  

Are you seeking professional help, or is this one of those sheer will type of approach to giving up alcohol?

Sheer will and the latter if necessary. I don't think the problem is so much whether or not I have the power to choose whether to drink or not. The problem is more how much when I do.

Happy early birthday to you! You seem like the kind of guy who sticks to things, I have a lot of faith in you! You're gonna rock this Anthony! Much Love <3<3<3

Thanks! Appreciate the sentiment. One day at a time. One foot after another. Day 2. Feeling good. No hangover!

Not being hungover ever again is one of the best things about quitting drinking! When I quit 13 + years ago I used a little trick that helped me at first, I told myself I could drink as much as I wanted to tomorrow, but I just wasn't going to drink today. I would do that every day.

Another thing that really helped me was a wise woman who said: Every day you are quit, the Devil is in the back room doing push ups. It taught me to never let up or let down my guard, no matter how many years go by, it's always there waiting, soothsaying, doing push ups on ROIDS wanting to come back again. The little voice that is in the back room saying: It's fine, you're good now, you don't really have a problem, you can have a little drink, just one or two, you're cured now...Be aware of that voice.

Thanks friend! Right back at you. ❤️ Hope ypu and yours are doing well.

We are doing very well, thanks!

Don't beat yourself up, matey. (even if you enjoy doing so).

Good luck - although you don't need any luck whatsoever , just clarity and purpose.

Sometimes life is just rough, sounds like you're through the worst of it - onwards and upwards.

I suggest NOT looking at the Hive price!

wish you a slow and joyful week and birthday and much luck or mainly perseverance with ur bottle problem :)

do you know combucha? :)

Thanks, buddy! I actually have a kombucha kit that has been in a box for months. King procrastinator here. Haha

I do enjoy it and seems to help me battle the affects of seasonal mold spores affect on my sinuses and stomach. And it's tasty!

cannabucha is the next level :D :P

Don't worry about any of this online stuff. Get out there and enjoy the day.