Upgrayedd [Pimp my Portable Turntable]

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

You've probably heard of Scratching, or Skratchin', you may have even heard of the term Turntablism(the art of playing a turntable as a musical instrument).

If you have no idea what I'm talking about, I highly recommend the documentary Scratch. It's a fascinating history of turntablism with a wacky cast of characters including the likes of Q-bert, Mix Master Mike, Naut Humon, and many many more.

You may think that scratching is "old-school" and it died back in the 80s with branded Transformers lunchboxes. Well, YOU'RE WRONG!. haha. There are a few of us left that are still into this stuff. Turntablism has progressed with new innovations in technology. Digital vinyl and the ability to trigger samples is a great example. The below video by Dj Craze is a great example of what can be done these days. If this video doesn't blow your mind, I may be wasting my words here.

ENTER PORTABLISM
"Wait, what? Now you're just making up words", I hear you say. Nope. Portablism is (as you may have guessed), Portable Turntablism. Talk about a niche of a niche! Yet, this is the kind of thing I'm into.

Companies like Numark are even making hardware especially for this niche market. Tiny battery powered turntables that play 7-inch records.

Want to add another niche? How about PT01 scratch mods? I'm also into this! To my PT01, I've added a custom fader:

An arcade style start and stop button:

A custom side plate with built in MP3 player:

And of course an internal lithium ion battery pack upgrade. No point in showing a video of that really, but here it is cracked open.

The original design takes 6 D-cell batteries. Can you believe that? D-cells.. in the current year!

On top of all of this, I added some extra light-up arcade buttons, just for fun.. possibly for future use.

The final product! Dun da da dun!

Just thought I would announce to the world that I love this shit, and I don't care who knows it.

Follow me @anticleric to learn more about the weird crap I'm into :P

Sort:  

Congratulations @anticleric! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Neat. Reward would be nice :P
But still neat.

nice dj music. keep making video and posting