I'm SICK of bailing water...

in #blog3 years ago (edited)

I don't know why, but EVERY cotton pickin' time something goes wrong in this house, it's water related.

The HVAC condensation not draining, wax gasket on the toilet failing, bathroom sink faucet basically exploding, sewer line just past the washing machine drain clogging up, still undiagnosed issue of water seeping up from the slab the house is built on.... ALWAYS WATER! Questioning if I'm living in a house or on a leaky boat! 😆

On today's episode of what's gonna leak next:

Woke up this morning after sleeping pretty good for a change. Got up to get something to drink and there's 2 inches of water in the kitchen floor. So I scramble to find the source of the leak, and finally hear hissing from underneath the sink. Open the cabinet, and there's water spraying everywhere (luckily it was cold). After I reached in and turned the valve off, I found the problem.

20210817_110604.jpg

At first, I thought something had chewed through the hose, but on a little closer inspection, I'm pretty sure whatever sorry excuse for a plumber plumed this place didn't back up the crimp when he was screwing the hose onto the valve and twisted the hell out of it.

Apparently my plans of spending this rainy day relaxing with the wife is shot, so I got everything mopped up and some fans going to dry everything out, and off to Lowes we went....

@samks and I were talking on the way. The lines were just crimped on to the old faucet. Can't just replace the hose. We had to get a whole new one anyway, and she mentioned wanting an upgrade. She works hard around here. If that's what she wants, that's what she's gonna get! She deserves it.

20210817_162410.jpg

While she was picking out her new faucet, I got to thinking...

We've been using one of those junky water filters that screw on to the end of the faucet. I hate those things, They leak around the threads, the filters only last about a month, they're always in the way, and I already knew it wouldn't work with the kind of faucet she's wanting. So I decided to do some upgrading of my own.

Had to take the garbage disposal off to mount it, but we now have an in-line water filter. Much better! Cheaper too! those little ones we had before were $30 and you have to change them every month. These are $15 more, but you only have to change them every 6 months.

20210817_161735.jpg

Guess it could have been worse. Probably needed to be done anyway, and it happened while I was home, so I was able to catch it before it got catastrophic.

That's enough putting out fires for one day I think. Time for some R&R.

Thanks for checking out this post!

Sig. S.png

HIVE V3 S.png

If you'd like, click a banner, and take a look at some of my personal favorite games, resources, and tools!

728x90-standard.png


Seth.PNG

PB8ro82ZpZP2DJYqWdv8qwdFPnFdSQrixPMNvTU9D4q8UVKknKMnCKdFJNvKD8kNBrPg7VGsoLxskdij5Dnn5ZiGPyjXjcoUmgAtw4hEfjPKbuLS.png

MisesInstitute_shield_950.png

FxX5caie56ynwsjysm2YB2oNjzL4TbvpG3i8DLuL8V5gwmGGUj22PeHJC1WF1mPKFe31bWgZdvvbf7PjZ64t45ddGMEgBcSFF3v7ceUxizJJ.png

Sort:  

THANK YOU for saving the day, once again. I must say, we make one HELL of a team. I wouldn't want this life with anyone else. Lovers you tons booboo. 😍 😘

Awwww. Love you to baby. Yes we do!

Loading...