Introduction

in #blog2 years ago

Hello out there lovely Hiveans

So my friend @adalger showed me this place and I thought I'd join. Now legend says one should sort of #introduceyourself here somewhat in the first post. So be it, a short Introduction. Well Actually I am not that good to speak about myself but I'll give it a try.

Who am I in the first place?

Basically I am a laid back enthusiastic person, who loves knowledge and science a lot. Hence I studied different things and got some degrees (in science and humanities), which are all useful just to combine various things to get something new or even better a combination of old and new. Currently I am working on a ph.D. in history of science and technique. And I live in the north-western part of germany.

Then books. Books are very important to me and I cannot help myself but the number of books I have is constantly growing and theres like nothing to do against it, espacially when they are old ones. Might be a disease, no one knows.

My passions

I have several passions to be honest. The one very first to mention would be World War I, as is the for- and aftermath of it. That means questioning how the remebrance of that war is done in the different countrys, how it evovled through the time, what kind of media was produced during World War I and how we read and remember it today. That means even with the different books and novels written by the veterans and the movies that were (and are) produced. Another point would be different kinds of equipment, how it was used, what can I learn from it today and maybe reuse it and test how it worked, like the saddles. One of the most interesting points are the uniforms, their production, how they looked and changed during the war. And old photographies, bc they are usually pretty beautiful and an interesting source.

So I got me during the year this old sewing machine, built in 1913, repaired it, put it back into service and now made my first testsewings since I want to reconstruct these old uniforms (and historical civilian clothing maybe) with these old machines just to be as close as possible to the originals.

IMG_5666.JPG

IMG_5668.JPG

Another passion of mine is horse riding. It is marvellous to team up with a horse and to communicate with each other and to get the best out of us. My style of horse riding is "Western-Style", which is a bit different from the usual kind of dressage. And as you can see it is not that hard to combine my passions of World War I and horse riding, since there was a cavalry so there is a lot of knowledge to get tested and proved. One example would be the saddle, is the old army one better than the modern saddles, how does it fit to a horse and so on. I do not own my own horse yet (but I dream of getting myself a horse), but I am lucky to have teachers for horse riding who are extremly open minded and interested in the stuff I am planing and doing with the horses.

IMG-20211016-WA0015.jpg

Here you can see me with some parts that were worn by a recruit of the hussars while I am doing my first steps into mounted fencing, what I am teaching myself piece by piece.

Funfact: as you can see one of my ancestors served in the cavalry, at the prussian 8th Hussars. He was in the war from the start on and survived, became even 93 years old. So I am researching where he has been what he experienced and have a goal to at least follow some of his ways.

Bild003_1.jpg

Actually I am so fascinated by this topic and all of its possibilities that I recently started to make videos about it, what I planned during the time. More about it another time.

Apart from this I love doing sports, so besides horse riding I am doing Judo and Olympic Fencing (sabre), just to keep myself a bit fit.

Thomas_6.jpg

29497191_1889360684420961_5131040468951367680_n.jpg

What do I do for a living?

Until recently I worked at a university but I wanted to change fields and so I got into a new founded tech-company, which is evolving a system for digital originals based on blockchain and want help to make it bigger and get it more established in the field. How this adventure turns out, we shall see. I am eager to learn new stuff anyway.

Apart from that

Well apart from this all I like different cultures and to travel and of course nature and to experince it.
In total my plan is to do some trail riding with historical equipment in the nature. Until I reache this goal, it still is a lot work and a longer way, but I am highly motivated, so lets see how this adventure turns out.

Well I think that was a good start, hope you enjoyed the read and see you next time around.
Have a good day.

If you want to join my Discord-Server just klick it and you would be one of the first persons to join. Another point would be my recent built youtube page, but I think I am about to try out 3speak and Dtube also because it seems to be fun, too. Then there is pinterest what I am using every once in a while. Thats it so far for my socialmedia accounts, if something changes I'll let you know.

Sort:  

Welcome aprussianhussar!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @aprussianhussar! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 3
Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hello @aprussianhussar! This is @jcrodriguez from the @OCD team. Welcome to hive!Congratulations for making your presentation post to the community.

I wish you much success in Hive. This is the best blockchain and best blogging platform.

I also invite you to explore other communities that you might like in this post: OCD Communities Incubation Program. There is a wide variety of topics. Check out all the communities. If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: newbie guide. They are easy to understand and useful for learning how the platform ecosystem works.

Please be aware that Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog, so it is important not to include content that you don't own without sources (and it shouldn't exceed 50% of the post). For more information, check this post - Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise by hivewatchers.

If you have questions or concerns, you can hop into OCD's Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.


You're welcome here