A Family Man

in #blog8 years ago

It all started as a necessity. Being a family man, I know to myself that earning only a minimum wage is not sufficient for my family needs. I know that all expenses will be shouldedr by me. My wife will not able to go to work because we already have a 2-year old little prince and expecting another one. At that time, I decided to gamble my fate to this job. Many years back, I knew that I'm not suited for the position that I am in right now. Knowing myself, I have no interest in learning the English language. I only know elementary english, the basics. I'm not really confident in speaking English that's why I have no guts in applying in a call center.
I tried applying in some call center near my place, like Convergys here along Commonwealth, IBM in Technohub, and Manulife. But all of them required speaking fluent English and technical analysis. Don't get me wrong, I can pass easily on the technical aspect, but the speaking part really hinders me from the job. And I know that that's the very skill needed in order to pass the interviews.
I have all the skill in terms of being an I.T.. I have a strong foundation in regards to computer hardware and networking peripherals. I already worked as a deskside engineer for Phildata, and I was asssigned to one of their client which is also one of the successful BPO industries here in the Philippines. I assisted 24/7 Contact Center, and worked for them for 9 months as a backoffice I.T. My main work description is to maintain all of their computers and network devices that 24/7 purchased from my main company. I could say that it had been a good experience for me working with them because it showed me a lot on how to work as a technical support over the phone, listening to their agents trying to resolve customer problems over the phone, and the likes. In short, I had a good view of what a call center agent is all about. I mean, I know that I can help the client resolve their issues, if I will be that agent. I am confident that I can assist them properly with their concerns. But then again, the conversational part got me. The speaking fluently hindered me again.
Then I realized that I can't go anywhere if I will not try. So after watching lots of how to's and what to do's during an interview in the Internet, I collected all the guts that I have, I decided to try applying in a call center again as an agent. Fortunately, I passed the initial interview, the computer exam, and the final interview. And the next thing I know, I'm on my first day of training at West Contact Services. And at the same time, my wife is only 2 weeks away from her due date. It was really a big blessing for my family. During the English communication training, I was having a hard time with their training assessment. I thought I wouldn't pass the first part of the training. But then again, with hard work, perseverance, and prayers, I passed all the training, including the product training. Then the real thing began. My first time ever on the floor. It was really a big difference for me. I am now the front man, the front liner. I'm no longer behind the scene.
I embraced my life as a call center agent wholeheartedly, knowing that this is my bread and butter, the only source of income for my family for more than two years now. I worked real hard, strive to do good, passed all my score cards with flying colors. And after a year, after all the hard work, my hard work paid off. I became agent of the month for a couple of months, and the big thing came, I was the agent of the year. Imagine, first time in a call center became agent for a year after almost a year of experience. I just want to share this, not to boast, but to be an inspiration to those who want to work in a call center. Don't let your fear overcome you. You overcome your fear with lots of determination and perseverance, and of course, with a lot of prayers.
Thank you for taking your time reading my post please UPVOTE me guys.

Sort:  

I upvoted You