Who am I as an artist? What I try to achieve, and why I do what I do?

in #blog5 years ago

Ascimat. What is Ascimat? Who is?
Ascimat is me. Literally, it's me. And when you listen to my music, you are not hearing "ascimat music", or "ascimat project".
I am not a project.
You are literally hearing my identity, my culture, myself.

Everything you hear isn't just put there random, or because it sounds cool. The voices, samples, echoes... field recording, animals... Everything is part of my life experience, part of my growth as a person.

Spacing from parts of old films I used to watch as a kid, to youtubers of the past that I loved, meaningful monologues by important people, or maybe not even so important, but people that nobody takes seriously and have a lot to say to the world. Thoughts from famous characters like painters, musicians, philosophers, poets.
Mine is a complete journey, a complete meditation around the existence of feelings and the human thoughts.
Not to exclude that first of all its an externalization of my emotions and my discomfort. I can't make music when I am happy, because happiness is great to express, I don't like to waste it behind a computer.
But anger, hate, sadness, melancholia, anxiety...
These are really my thing. Those are what pushed me into production; I just had enough.
In the end, what I make is just the best of the worst of myself.

Listen to it carefully, pay attention and let go of yourself. Don't chat or use it as a background music, because it isn't.
You have to catch the essence of it

Screenshot (7).png

Sort:  

Congratulations @ascimat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.
You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!