Does an App makes you a 2D Digital Visual Artist? / Have you ever printed your work on higher scaling then A4?

in #blog6 years ago

How many of you are interested in 2D Digital Visual Art? Probably many. Now how many of you got Photoshop on their OS and don't dare to use it cause it's too hard? A lot of you, right? Many of you so called "Digital Artist" work with apps and / or generators for "Artworks" daily, and posting their work on social networks, cause is fun, I get that. But don't you feel being cheated by a machine that does 99% of the job? Sure it would make you to feel like a 2D Digital Visual Artist, but do you believe that? Some of you probably never thought of that, and most of you probably don't even care.

For those who feels like they can't cope with what I'm saying, let me tell you this. "Tell the truth and shame the devil". If you think you are a 2D Digital Visual Artist then you are playing yourself, cause once you print your stuff on any measurement higher then 20cm x 30cm (A4) and see the lack of detail created by those "apps" and "generators", you'll understand what I was talking about. While many of you are not interested (yet) about printing your work, trust me, one day you gonna want to hang a printed Canvas of your Artwork somewhere, and you'll want it flawless. I'm pretty sure of that.

The following piece I want to show you, is created on Photoshop from a picture I shot in Encinitas / California with my Sony α58 Camera, here is the original image I started with:

Here is the finished 2D Digital Visual Artwork created with Photoshop:

All of my Artwork, can be scaled for a desired measurement, while the details will always remain. Now this piece here has 200 dpi for a faster upload on Steemit, but the original one is 300 dpi and it can easily be scaled up to 120cm x 60cm without any loss of detail.

poetry swirls thin.png

So if you ever decide to make a significant difference, and start to create pretty descent 2D Digital Visual Art, then you need to get a legit software meant for that (Photoshop would have to be included on the list), and spend some time learning about dpi / pixel resolution, color pallets, light, texture, depth, gradients, layers, modes, masks, levels, curves, and so on. Basically, you need to learn the craft before you claim to be a craftsmen, or as I would love to add to the conclusion "Do the do, don't do the doo doo"

Hope this post will inspire you to become a better 2D Digital Visual Artist.

follow-resteem-comment-upvote-colored-original-art-NEW.gif

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

There was two questions @magic8ball which one are you referring to? ☺