You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Solstice Spiral Walk: A Winter Ritual

in #blog5 years ago

I do not know the origin of the ritual, but it is used widely in Waldorf Schools as an Advent celebration. The schools are based on a philosophy/religion called Anthroposophy, but I do not think of this ritual as strictly belonging to that faith. However, it is to them I give the credit of keeping alive the tradition. It may have older roots, or it may be something that their founder Rudolf Steiner and/or his followers created. He is also the father of biodynamic farming, which you have probably heard of, yes? I think because of the deep symbolism and wisdom contained within the ceremony, it has a universal appeal to people of many faiths. I have co-created this ritual several times now among people of many different faiths with all positive feedback.

Sort:  

I've heard of Steiner and biodynamic farming, but never the Waldorf School or anthroposophy. I'll look into them.