Writing on the Blockchain

in #blog6 years ago

For some reason, this is the freest I've ever felt.

I have an MFA in writing. I've been published in a few respectable outlets. Many of my friends and mentors are bestselling authors, and yet...I feel I can write freely and stop obsessing over the strength of my verbs while on here. Soon, I suppose I'll start posting short stories and other works of fiction.

But what's really crazy is that putting stuff up on the blockchain is totally immutable. I mean really, not something we can edit or anything that will ever go away. And this changes things. I'm so used to carefully curating my words, and then I overthink them and analyze them to death and finally take them down, trash them, delete them entirely because I've thought myself out of them and thought them to death.

No matter.

At least here on Steemit I feel a bit more free.

That's a good thing.