Too early to grow anything

in #blog2 years ago

Hello friends,
There were a few days of warm weather this past weekend and that gave me the opportunity to do some gardening. It is much too early and cold still for me to plant anything, but I did manage to clean up a few things.

I spent my time weeding and removing dead foliage that was left over from last summer. I also managed to add some manure around my shrubs and perennials.

greencorn3.jpg

I have been carving out this bed for about 3 years. It is very difficult to get anything established due to the extreme drought we are experiencing. Not only is there drought, but the wind is fierce. Did I mention that I am in zone 2? I am in zone 2 and there are few perennials that will survive the winter here.

It is so early still that I do not know what perennials will have made it over the winter months! Hopefully all of them, but I see very few green shoots so far.

Last year, I planted quite a few annuals such as petunias, zinnias, sunflowers and amaranth. I additionally planted some Oaxaca green corn as an ornamental.

greencorn.jpg

This type of corn is not normally grown in this region, but I wanted to experiment. The stalks grew nicely and cobs formed, but the season was too short for it to fully mature. I was happy however that a few cobs made it through the winter--freeze dried even--and have a beautiful colour. I will give myself extra points if I can get these seeds to sprout.

greencorn2.jpg

Here are all the green cobs I found during cleanup. I recovered lots of amaranth seeds as well. Way more than I have pictured here! I replanted most of them in the hope that I will get a good crop of them as they are a fast growing annual that provides lots of colour and height during my short growing season.

They are also delicious to eat. I have a Bangladeshi friend who raids my garden for them so I need to grow more than he can take.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations @brittilicious! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 21
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hi! Quick question from a newbie teaching themselves about the planting zones in America.
Have you considered raised beds and hoop houses? Or this this not feasible?

Hi there!
Yes, both those options are feasible, but the soil must be consistently warm enough for the seeds to germinate. Raised beds do not actually speed up that process. I have two cold frames that I planted a few weeks ago and the seeds have not yet germinated.

In general, raised beds are best for annual crops. If you notice my picture of my terraced slope, I only put annual flowering plants there because perennials do not survive well here in that situation. It is the same with a raised bed as the rootball is too exposed to the elements. Instead, it is best to put perennial plants directly into the soil, in a bit of a depression, cover with a good mulch and hope that we get an adequate snow cover for insulation.

Hoop houses are very handy to keep frost off of tender seedlings and plants. I am fortunate that I have a greenhouse, which protects my plants from frost, but also extends the season.

I see that you are in South Africa. I bet gardening is much different there!

I don't have much of a garden. All my plants are in pots. I have a cucumber (should be uprooting it soon), a ton of mint (spread like wildfire), Paprika (almost two years old now), and some gooseberries (infested with red spider mite). I'm actually an entomologist, and I have my garden to attracting insects to enjoy.
This may be silly, what about germinating the seeds indoors before transplanting them? I know things like carrots do poorly as transplants, but lettuce should be fine.
What can you even grow out in Zone 2, and when is your expected last frost date?
As for South Africa, my dad (Agriculturalist) says there are only really three zones. I believe it was no frost, high light with some frost, and then highland with extended or hard frost. I'll have to go read those messages again.

I believe your dad has a point! I live on the Canadian Prairies so I expect I would fall into "high light with some frost". It is cold here though. Think Siberia.

Zone 2 is very difficult and I like to joke that I get my vegetables the hard way. I do start seeds indoors, such as tomatoes and peppers. This year I am starting a bunch of perennials that I hope to plant outdoors at the beginning of June. I direct sow other stuff like carrots and lettuce as soon as the snow is gone and the soil is no longer frozen. I already have seeds in my coldframes and in a few weeks I will sow seeds in my main garden.

Last frost dates are iffy. In general, it is not safe for plants until the last weekend in May. That is not a guarantee, however, as last year I had a hard frost on Midsummer (June 21/22). I lost many plants.

My region is quite north at about the 52nd parallel north. The advantage there is that the days are long. By Midsummer, the sun does not set until close to 11 pm. Right now, the sun is setting just before 8:30 pm.

Although Fall, Winter, and Spring are cold, the Summer months are hot. June to August averages 25 Celsius. It is normal to have temperatures well above 30 during these months. I can grow almost anything during these months. The problem is the Winter. It is so cold and only a minority of plants can make it through. Trees, shrubs, and plants need to survive temps between -40 and -50 Celsius!

I find it amazing that you have a paprika plant that is two years old! Mine will die off in the first hard frost in September.

Thanks for reading. I will keep posting more stuff as the season wears on.

I started my paprika indoors, and where I am there is no winter frost. A lot of rain though. But it is showing its age now. I need to pull it up once winter has settled.

I love that you grow for others too. You guys have such a short growing season and are against it for sure. Gotta love the gardening spirit that persists at all costs!

#gardenjournal

I can't imagine trying to grow in Zone 2. I am Zone 4A, challenging enough for me!

I hear you. I used to live in Nova Scotia where the Zone was 5. That was a big change from British Columbia where I didn't know how good I had it with a Zone 7.

Oh, a Zone 6 or 7 would be lovely! Except the heat in summer....

Looking good! You will get a lot of produce, especially if you plant starter plants inside first.

Have you looked at blurt? It's like the old steemit was....

👍🙏🤠💗