You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are we going too far?

in #blog6 years ago

✋🏼🤚🏼

The last time I was at Manchester University (which was a very long ago, and I was visit because I studied at Keele) the biggest problem the students had was standing up after propping the bar up all day.

It all seems a bit silly to me, and even more confusing - clapping as appreciation has sound (so the visually impaired would hear to know they should also clap) - so this Jazz hands idea will stop them knowing when to clap.

I am certainly all for equal opportunities and ensuring everyone has a fair chance to join in - but this does seem to be taking away an age old tradition of appreciation just for the sake of being seen to be "doing something"

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Sort:  

That is what is boggling to me as well.
I applaud the initiative to do good and improve the lot of those less fortunate
However it seems like we are becoming hyper focused on a certain group and neglect to consider the impact on other groups.
In this case, we have turned a blind eye to blind as a group I would say.
How could this not be seen ahead of time?
The fact that this faced little opposition as reported in the article leads me to believe that we as a society are now afraid to speak out or up against anything that might be deemed politically correct. We are sacrificing our voices so that others may run rampant with their half thought out, blindsided ideas.
I do not see this as a positive path we are going down.