Microsoft fixes Microsoft's previous error... Yay Microsoft!

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I'm sure by now you have all heard about the recent Spectre/Meltdown debacle. If not, allow me to bring you up to speed. Spectre/Meltdown are basically a set of vulnerabilities effecting a very wide variety of smartphones, computers, and browsers. These vulnerabilities date back to 1995. Needless to say this is a pretty big deal in the IT community.

The latest news on this is that Micorosoft previously released a 'fix' which has been bricking AMD boxes, or rendering them useless.

They did, however, roll out another patch that 'should' resolve the issue. Although I haven't quite figured out how you patch a bricked system...

Make sure if you are using an AMD based system, you use the updated patch!

Felt like I had to make sure everyone was aware of this. Could save someone quite a headache!

Spectre/Meltdown have been in the news quite a bit lately but the info above is not something I have heard as much about. If anyone has any questions or would like to discuss this further, feel free to comment below or come look for me on the #PAL discord! - https://discord.gg/GUuCXgY


Source:
https://www.pcworld.com/article/3246189/security/microsoft-halts-meltdown-patches-windows-amd-pcs-unbootable.html


mikr0s0ft.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for your post. :) I have voted for you: 🎁! To call me just write @{} in a comment.

Units patching software exploits. This is in my directive.
Much pinesol @chivesz unit.

It is also in my more organic programming. Or to put it more specifically, 00110010001001010100001000110... you get it.

I don't have time to photoshop Bill Gates on Xhibit's face, but "Yo dawg, I heard you like patches so we're patching our patches so our previous patches aren't problems."

I thought I was the only person that still referenced xzibit and pimp my ride... i tip my hat to you good sir :D

Clearly we're both of a similar age and career, and you like the best ninja turtle. You're alright in my book.

I am not surprised by what I thought was common knowledge, these programmers are publishing tech as new shit is being developed to replace it. The speed of new development is exaggerated though to fit the market. The new phone every 6 months is unnecessary tech but it fits the market. I guess to me it is not a fix if they profit from it, it is a plan.RESPECT