You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Blog] What is freedom?

in #blog6 years ago

I ponder the concept of freedom or liberty quite often. I feel as though we are all ultimately as free as we want to be, but so is everyone else. If the majority of people want to dictate how far any other person's freedoms can go before they feel threatened or infringed upon, they will often take the perceived threat's freedom. It's an interesting dynamic and it's all ultimately about balance I suppose. I'd much rather see victimless crimes abolished than more and more rules put into place to restrict freedom for everyone. Like laws that send people to jail for consuming plants because other people are overly judgmental about the practice seem completely silly to me. On the other hand, laws that strike down hard on imposing or breaking down another person's free will (such as assault or rape) seem very logical to me. I suppose in the end though, everyone is free to do what the wish, but the consequences may be what dissuade them from pursuing certain things.

Sort:  

Thank you @clayboyn for this insightful comment.
I agree with you in all you said. Indeed the consequences of the actions may dissuade the freedom, hence even though we are free to do whatever we want, there are certain barriers that encourage us not do so.