So, a little about myself.

in #blog5 years ago

I used to be on Facebook, got onto it when my then-girlfriend-now-wife found it and was using it to organize her photos with. Over the years, I did a lot on Facebook and considered it part of my day-to-day life. But the last couple of years, I've been slowly detaching myself from it and becoming increasingly disenfranchised with the service.

I tried other social media systems -- Google+ (which was a joke at best), Twitter (never could get into it), even looked a little at Instagram & Snapfish (both were dull to me). Just couldn't find one that I liked, and I was still losing interest in Facebook. I finally decided to get completely off FB -- not with a bang, just quietly walked away. I removed it from my bookmarks and uninstalled it from my phone. And... I have really no desire to return. My wife and I communicate through other means now anyway (like Signal).

I found out about Steemit and Steem about two or three months ago and got into this. I mostly am just reading and lurking, but will slowly increase what I am doing hopefully soon. I like the idea of how Steem works, and am fascinated by it overall. I've been more intrigued by decentralized types of services for a while.

Sort:  

Congratulations @darkhelm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @darkhelm! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!