Few benefits of Vegetarian Diet

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

All those vitamins and minerals that are present in meat are also available in the vegetarian diet. Vegetarian diets are as nutritious as any other meat diet. For nonvegetarians, proteins are obtained from fish, meat, and eggs, while vegetarians will receive from fruits and vegetables. Due to the compounds found in meat, digestion of meat cannot be done soon, while digestion of vegetarian diet can be done quickly. Let's learn about the benefits of vegetarian diet.

Low Cholesterol

According to many researchers, a vegetarian diet can reduce obesity to significant percentage, which is associated with reduced risk of cardiovascular diseases. Eating animal fat has no added advantage to us. It is proved that if we remove meat from our diet, we will also remove the negative effects that have on our life and body fat and cholesterol levels were lower in vegetarians than meat eaters.

The vegetarian diet was found to be almost twice as effective in reducing body weight, resulting in an average loss of 6.2kg compared to 3.2kg for the conventional diet. Source

Fewer Chances of Diabetes:

As per Loma Linda University, vegetarian diets have significant reduction in diabetes-related problems. Other researchers also confirmed that vegetarian diets also offer an essential benefit for the control of diabetes and can reduce the chance by 50%.

Idiopathic calcium oxalate stone-formers are advised to reduce ingestion of animal protein, oxalate, and sodium while maintaining intake of 800 to 1200 mg of calcium and increasing consumption of citrate and potassium. There are few data regarding dietary therapy of calcium phosphate stones. Whether the inhibitory effect of citrate sufficiently counteracts increasing urine pH to justify more intake of potassium and citrate is not clear. Source

High Blood Pressure Prevention

The possibility of high blood pressure in vegetarians is much lower than non-vegetarians and does not depend on weight and salt. This happens because such people take complex carbohydrate in large quantities and they also have less physical dosage.


Image Source

Less Chance of Kidney problems

Vegetarian diets are also beneficial in controlling the problem related to kidney stones or diseases. People who follow vegetarian diet have low urine pH and non-vegetarian have a higher urine pH. According to studies blood circulation and kidney related disorders are less common in vegetarians compared to meat eaters.

Forty-five vegetarians (23 men and 22 women; mean age, 49.5 ± 5.3 years), who had maintained a vegetarian diet for a minimum of 15 years, and 30 omnivores (15 men and 15 women; mean age, 48.9 ± 3.6 years) participated in this study. Source

There are long-standing debates between vegetarians & non-vegetarians about their choice, I just want to point few benefits of Vegetarianism

Sort:  

wow this is great

That's right. Vegetarian diet is high in antioxidants which helps the body fight oxidation and inflammation. Most of the chronic diseases are related to cellular damage caused by free radicals, and antioxidants fights this damage.

I don't eat any meat for about 8 months now, and I feel great! And I rarely eat other animal products, so I'm almost vegan. Would recommend to everyone!

been vegetarian 24 years now, one of the best things I done not only for me personally but for the animal kingdom and the environment.

I started a vegetarian diet five years ago, sure it’s not for everyone but it was a choice I made. Several reasons and plenty of research before I took the plunge. I do have to say it was one of the best decisions I made for myself. My cholesterol levels are normal, my constant stomach irritation is gone and no more constipation-sorry but true. Anyway, good information and thank you for sharing.

Hey you all, you might want to unfollow my old account @charisma11. @drydoc46 hijacked my account and trasferred funds from my account to theirs. I now have this account @charisma1.

great work ,good luck friend

Hence, you live Longer , Stronger and Wiser.

I wish I could go totally vegetarian. I tried for 3 months a few years back. My body felt good and healthy but my cravings could not override. You have some great information. Enjoyed.

Great post and underlines for the most part the way my mom, a nurse, taught us to eat.

I'm not vegetarian but I do have a lot of vegetables in my diet. And I'm an advocate for eating healthy and vegetarian diets are always a very good option.

Congratulations @dcrypto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

From my point of view as food expert and educator, I respect every diet that can satisfy daily needs.

According to the latest study of International society of sports nutrition, you need to meet your daily calorie intake and minimum of protein, carbs and fat ratio is not relevant as long as you have these two terms.

If we take a look at this trough vegetarian perspective, you can get protein from cheese, eggs and combining legumes for a complete amino-acid profile.

So my opinion is that, from a science point of view, this kind of diet is good because it can fill terms of calories and protein.

Reference for those who want to read the whole study: https://jissn.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s12970-017-0174-y

Thank you for a great article! So many benefits with a vegetarian diet - for both the health, animals and planet :)

I love this diet too! Great job ;-)

Absolutely right @dcrypto . Vegetables are fat-less. Contains high no of minerals. More meat and fast food make the person's life harmful (Disease-ful ). It contains natural vitamins.

I think the vegetarian diet is great but abusing of use is bad cause everything has his benefits don't neglect it.